US Sailing announce Cadiz team

US sailors selected for the ISAF World Sailing Championship

Tuesday April 22nd 2003, Author: US Sailing, Location: United States
The Olympic Sailing Committee of US Sailing, national governing body for the sport, has announced the athletes who will represent the USA at the combined world championships to be held later this year. To date over 75 countries have indicated they will participate in the 2003 ISAF World Sailing Championships, scheduled for September 11-25, 2003, in Cadiz, Spain. There will be a set number of berths available per country per class in the nine Olympic classes, with all member national authorities (MNA) of ISAF automatically receiving two entries for each event. In addition, each MNA will receive up to four additional entries per event based on the number of sailors the MNA has in the top-100 of the ISAF World Sailing Rankings as of May 2003.

In each of the following events, the first two athletes will compete in Cadiz. If the USA is awarded additional entries, they will be awarded to the next sailor(s) in order. The 2003 US Sailing Team rankings were used to determine which athletes receive the first four entries available to the USA.

Europe: Meg Gaillard (Pelham, N.Y./Jamestown, R.I.); Krysia Pohl (Alameda, Calif.); Christin Feldman (Grosse Pointe, Mich.); Lauren Maxam (Coronado, Calif.); Tanya Haddad (Portland, Ore.); and Kathleen Tocke (Newport, R.I.).

Finn: Mo Hart (Santa Cruz, Calif./S. Portland, Maine); Geoff Ewenson (Annapolis, Md./Newport, R.I.); Greg Skidmore (Riverside, Conn.); Darrell Peck (Gresham, Ore.); Bryan Boyd (Edgewater, Md.); and Henry Sprague (Long Beach, Calif.).

470 Men (skipper and crew): Steven Hunt (Poquoson, Va.) and Michael Miller (Fairport, N.Y.); Paul Foerster (Rockwall, Texas) and Kevin Burnham (Miami, Fla.); Mark Ivey (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Howard Cromwell (New Orleans, La.); Thomas Hall (Scarborough, Maine) and Dave Hughes (S. Portland, Maine); Mikee Anderson-Mitterling (Newport Beach, Calif.) with crew to be announced (tba); and Stuart McNay (Chestnut Hill, Mass.) with crew tba.

470 Women (skipper and crew): Katie McDowell (Barrington, R.I.) and Isabelle Kinsolving (New York, N.Y.); Erin Maxwell (Stonington, Conn.) and Jen Morgan
(Shoreline, Wash.); Amanda Clark (Shelter Island, N.Y.) and Sarah Mergenthaler (Colt’s Neck, N.J.); Allison Jolly (St. Petersburg, Fla.) and Lynne Shore (Newport, R.I.); Courtenay Dey (The Dalles, Ore.) and Linda Wennerstrom (Miami, Fla.); and Molly O’Bryan (San Diego, Calif./Kaneohe, Hawaii) and Annelise Moore (Monterey, Calif./Kaneohe, Hawaii).

49er (skipper and crew): Tim Wadlow (San Diego, Calif ) and Pete Spaulding (Coral Gables, Fla.); Andy Mack (Seattle, Wash.) and Adam Lowry (San Francisco, Calif.); Dalton Bergan (Seattle, Wash.) and Zach Maxam (Coronado, Calif.); David Fagen (St. Petersburg, Fla.) and Bora Gulari (Detroit, Mich.); Morgan Larson (Capitola, Calif.) with crew tba; and Mike Karas (Kirkland, Wash.) and Anthony Boscolo (Seattle, Wash.).

Laser: Andrew Campbell (San Diego, Calif.); Andrew Lewis (Honolulu, Hawaii); Zach Railey (Clearwater, Fla.); Brad Funk (Largo, Fla.); Mark Mendelblatt (St. Petersburg, Fla.); and Kurt Taulbee (Buffalo, N.Y.).

Mistral Men: Peter Wells (La Canada, Calif.); Ben Barger (St. Petersburg, Fla.); Kevin Jewett (Deephaven, Minn.); Phillip Muller (Ft. Pierce, Fla.); Steve Bodner (Toledo, Ohio/San Francisco, Calif.); and Dan Kerckhoff (Naples, Fla.).

Mistral Women: Lanee Butler (Aliso Viejo, Calif.); Beth Winkler (Cocoa Beach, Fla.); Taylor Duch (Savannah, Ga.); Laura Chambers Lewandowski (Indialantic, Fla.); Farrah Hall (Annapolis, Md.); and Ericka Kofkin (Melbourne, Fla.).

Star (skipper and crew): Terry Hutchinson and Andrew Scott (both Annapolis, Md.); Andy Lovell (New Orleans, La.) and Eric Oetgen (Savannah, Ga.); Howie Shiebler (San Francisco, Calif.) and Rick Peters (Venice Beach, Calif.); Rick Merriman and Bill Bennett (both San Diego, Calif.); John Kostecki (Fairfax, Calif.) and Austin Sperry (Miami, Fla.); and Tony Rey and Doug Brophy (both Newport, R.I.).

In addition, the following skippers, as Star World Champions, have qualified a slot for their team. They are listed with the crew who will sail with them in Cadiz: Paul Cayard (Kentfield, Calif.) and Phil Trinter (Lorain, Ohio); Vince Brun and Brian Terhaar (both San Diego, Calif.), Mark Reynolds (San Diego, Calif.) and Magnus Liljedahl (Miami, Fla.); and Eric Doyle (San Diego, Calif.) with crew tba.

Tornado (skipper and crew): Robbie Daniel (Clearwater, Fla.) and Eric Jacobsen (Annapolis, Md.); John Lovell (New Orleans, La.) and Charlie Ogletree (Houston, Texas); Lars Guck (Bristol, R.I.) and Jonathan Farrar (Miami, Fla.); Stan Schreyer (Newport, R.I.) and Forbes Durdin (Houston, Texas); Doug Camp (Boerne, Texas), and Kenny Pierce (Miami, Fla.); and Greg and Caroline Scace (both Gaithersburg, Md.).

Yngling (skipper and two crew): Betsy Alison (Newport, R.I.), Suzy Leech (Avon, Conn./Annapolis, Md.) and Lee Icyda (Stuart, Fla.); Sally Barkow (Nashotah, Wisc.), Carrie Howe (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) and Debbie Capozzi (Bayport, N.Y.); Carol Cronin (Jamestown, R.I.), Liz Filter (Stevensville, Md.) and Bridget Hallawell (Coronado, Calif.); Hannah Swett (Jamestown, R.I.), Joan Touchette (Newport, R.I.) and Melissa Purdy (Tiburon, Calif.); Jody Swanson (Buffalo, N.Y.), Cory Sertl (Rochester, N.Y.) and Elizabeth Kratzig (Corpus Christi, Texas); and Ellie Field (Little Compton, R.I.) with
crew tba.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top