Misty start in Palma

Racing gets underway for some classes at the Princess Sofia Trophy for Olympic Classes

Tuesday April 15th 2003, Author: Event Press, Location: None
The mist has covered the Bay of Palma during the first day of the Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía-Madrid 2012. Only the Europe women, Europe men, Finn, 49er group A, 470 men and 470 women have sailed in one race.

Spanish sailors lead the Europe Men class: Francisco Terrasa Pol and Ivan Moreno Costa (C.N. Ibiza) have won their respective races. The winners in the Europe women class –, the class with a higher number of entries representing 28 nations- have been Argentinian sailor Serena Amato and Sarah Macky from New Zealand followed by Evi van Acker from Belgium and Spanish sailor Fátima Reyes.

Javier Conte/Juan de la Fuente, who finished in second place last year, have won today’s race of their group and Italian crew Gabrio Zandona/Andrea Trani have won in the other group.

Swedish crew Therese Torgersson/Vendela Zachrisso lead the 470 women fleet followed by Christina Bassadone/Catherine Hopson from Great Britain and Fernanda Oliveira/Fabiana Scarrone from Brasil in third place.

USA crew Tim Wadlow/Pete Spaulding won race one of the 49er A group, followed by Swedish team Meter Backe/Anders Bengtsson and Danish crew Michael Hestbek/Dennis Dengso Andersen. Group B did not sail any race today and will be the first group to sail tomorrow.

With a strong British entry the Finn class is led by Gaspar Vincec from Slovakia, second place is for Italian sailor Luca Devoti followed by Ali Enver Adakan from Turkey.

We are unable, at this point, to get hold of accurate results from the organisers, we'll keep you posted. For the entry list, click here .

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top