Victory to Stodart

A report from the third heat of the Computer Associates Australian 18ft skiff championship in Sydney

Sunday January 23rd 2005, Author: Frank Quealey, Location: Australasia
Hugh Stodart's Asko Appliances proved too good for her opposition to record a 32 second victory in the third Heat of the Computer Associates Australian 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour.

Omega Smeg (Daniel Phillips) came home strongly to grab second placing only 200 metres from the finishing line and take the overall lead in the championship. Third placing in the race went to AAPT, led by replacement skipper John Boyd, which finished a further 22secs behind Omega Smeg.

With half the championship now completed Omega Smeg has a total of 8 points, followed by Asko on 12, Computer Associates (Anthony Young) and AAPT on 14.

Defending champion Michael Coxon ( Casio Seapathfinder) is next overall on 17 points with Tony Hannan's Maytag sixth on 18.

Heat 3 was sailed in a 10-15 knot southerly wind. From the start AAPT and Asko were in or near the lead to the first mark. AAPT led Asko by 15 seconds at the mark closely followed by Omega Smeg, Casio and Maytag.

Superior tactics on the long spinnaker run allowed Asko to establish a 20 seconds break over AAPT while Computer Associates had moved into third place ahead of Omega Smeg, Casio and Rag & Famish.

The two leaders continued to battle for almost the entire course with Omega Smeg in hot pursuit. Asko increased her lead to 30 seconds on two occasions but this was dragged back to less than 10 seconds on the windward legs. On the final spinnaker run Asko again proved too speedy for her rivals and opened up the final winning break as the fleet headed for home.

The race produced one of the best fleet finishes on record when only 7mins 51secs covered the first 18 skiffs while young Jacqui Bonnitcha and her crew of Rosemount took the handicap win in the race.

This series will determine Australia's team for the JJ Giltinan Trophy, the effective 18ft skiff World Championship, next month. As an added bonus to competitors, the richest prize ever given in the history of the championship will be awarded to the winner who will receive a Ssangyong Musso Sports 4WD Utility motor vehicle.


Pos Boat Elapsed Time Handicap Place Aust Points
1 Asko Appliances 01:16.1 10th 12.0 (2nd)
2 Omega Smeg 01:16:38 7th 8.0 (1st)
3 AAPT 01:17:00 9th 14.0 (3rd=)
4 Ssangyong Yandoo 5th 21
5 Computer Associates 6th 14.0 (3rd=)
6 Casio Seapathfinder 17th 17
7 Reg & Famish Hotel 8th 24
8 Club Marine 11th 33
9 Panasonic 2nd 38
10 Maytag 19th 18
11 Belle Property 12th 38
12 SX Projects 4th 41
13 Fisher & Paykel 18th 27
14 Team Morrison 3rd 36
15 Rosemount 1st 55
16 CST Composites 14th 49
17 Adtec Communications 13th 45
18 Churchills Sports Bar 15th 49
19 Team Pomfret 16th 47
20 Aristocrat Non-Starter 59

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top