Doing the Haka

News of the opening of the Grey Goose ISAF Team Racing Worlds at NYYC

Monday September 26th 2005, Author: Jan Harley, Location: United Kingdom
An enthusiastic crowd cheered and clapped as sixteen teams representing ten nations paraded across the lawn of the New York Yacht Club's Harbour Court this evening for the Opening Ceremony of the 2005 Grey Goose ISAF Team Racing World Championship. With regatta organizers, local dignitaries, and sailing officials from around the globe in attendance, the sailors carried in their national flags as a Dixieland band set the tone for the festivities.

After defending champions Tim Fallon, Ery Largay and Karen Renzulli, all members of Team Whishbone, hoisted the flag that signaled the official opening of the world championship, Team New Zealand energized the crowd with a spirited performance of the Haka. A Maori war chant that precedes battle, the Haka is delivered with fierce shouting, sharp arm movements and thunderous foot stamping. "It is always performed before a competition to show your intention to take the trophy home," explained one of the team's supporters.

The competitors spent the last two picture-perfect days taking advantage of scheduled on-the-water practice time in the Vanguard 15s that have been supplied for the regatta.

Championship racing gets underway tomorrow, Monday, September 26, at 9:00 a.m., on the field of play set between Rose Island and Goat Island. Bleachers have been set up north of the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel and Spa, adjacent to the Newport Harbor Lighthouse, and Tufts University sailing coach Ken Legler will be on hand to provide commentary. Upward of 400 races are expected to be held before the teams who will move into the finals on October 1 are determined. Awards will be presented on Saturday, October 1, followed by Closing Ceremonies.

Australia 1
Rod Chamberlain & Caroline Ross
Tim Cubit & Emma Flukes
Stewart Wells & Michael Sorrell-Saunders

Australia 2
Nick Jones & Claire Cunningham
Blair Spaulding & Prue Cunningham
George Peacock & Will Keyes

Tine Moberg-Parker & Julie Hughes
Anne Marie Shewfelt & Hans Fisher
Kelly Bechard & David Sprague

Czech Republic
Petr Fiala & Kamilla Koutna
Martina Koutna & Michaela Preibischova
Jan Kittler & Barbora Soukupova

Great Britain 1
Steve Tylecote & Toby Lewis
David Ellis & Damian Boreham
Rob Sherington & Melanie Sherington

Great Britain 2
Stuart Hudson & Hamish Walker
Dom Johnson & Jen Heeley
Owen Modral & Linda Eadle

Ireland 1
John Sheehy & Rachel MacManus
Max Treacy & Emma Lovegrove
Andrew Fowler & Eavan Gannon

Ireland 2
Graham Elmes & Michelle Rowley
Johnny Mahew & Fergal O’Shea
Conal Casey & Gill Burke

Luca Dubbini & Roberto Dubbini
Guila Conti & Giovanna Micol
Fabio Zeni & Stefano Petissi

Japan 1
Tomoyuki Nakano & Siochiro Nagami
Hiromitsu Eiraku & Junichi Nohara
Masakuni Miyaziki & Ayako Yamaguchi

Japan 2
Kenichi Nanbara & Kazushi Sekimori
Kazuyoshi Momiyama & Yashuhiko Tsuge
Takashi Hirai & Keiko Sekimori

New Zealand 1
Greg Webster & Charlie Webster
Laurie Jurie & Annemarie Waugh
Logan Sutherland & Georgina Hill

New Zealand 2
Reuben Corbett & Bradley Farrand
Kevin Hooper & Blair Tuke
Olivia Powrie & Joe Foster

Tim Fallon & Karen Renzulli
Tim Wadlow & Ery Largay
Mark Ivey & Matt Linblad

Patrick Hogan & Carlos Lenz
Pete Levesque & Liz Hall
Colin Merrick & Amanda Callahan

Taylor Canfield & Nathan Rosenberg
Cy Thompson & Addison Caproni
Thomas Barrows & Sarah Swann

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top