Edinburgh Cup

A preview of this weekends UK Dragon Nationals

Friday May 26th 2006, Author: Fiona Brown, Location: United Kingdom
In 1948 the members of the Island Sailing Club gave the Dragon Bluebottle to the then Princess Elizabeth and the Duke of Edinburgh as a wedding present. A year later the Duke, an enthusiastic and skilled Dragon sailor, presented The Edinburgh Cup to the British Dragon Association; this perpetual trophy is awarded annually to the Open British Dragon Champion.

The 2006 Edinburgh Cup will to be hosted by the Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, Cowes from this Saturday 27th to Tuesday 30th May and as the event approaches Cowes is rapidly being taken over by Dragon sailors. Thirty five boats from Russia, Finland, Australia, Ireland and Great Britain are rolling into town to challenge for this historic trophy.

Defending champion and double Olympic Gold medallist Poul-Richard Hoj-Jensen will be attempting to take the Edinburgh Cup for the fourth time. There is an extremely competitive field this year so Hoj-Jensen has plenty of challengers including Simon Brien from Northern Ireland who won the Edinburgh Cup in 2000, Tommy Muller of Germany, Rob Campbell, David Palmer, John Boyce, Eric Williams, Peter Nicholson, Mark Wade and recent UK South Coast Championship winner Len Jones. The two Russian crews, led by Sergey Maslov and Alexey Krylov, are also expected to do well whilst Julia Bailey and Gavia Wilkinson-Cox will both be hoping to put a woman's name on the trophy for the fist time.

2006 sees the introduction of several new perpetual trophies for the Edinburgh Cup regatta. The Royal Corinthian Yacht Club Trophy will be awarded for Race 1. The Kin Trophy, donated by Ireland's Simon Brien, will be awarded for Race 3. The Princess Jalina Trophy, presented by David Palmer, will be awarded for Race 6. Another new initiative is the Edinburgh Cup Raffle, which aims to make the Prize Giving truly a fun occasion and to encourage all participants to attend. Only those full crews attending the Prize Giving are eligible for the Raffle which features some £2000 of prizes including free entry to the 2007 Edinburgh Cup and prizes donated by Petticrows, Dubarry of Ireland and Williams Shipping.

This event is made possible through the generous contributions of its Supporting Sponsors Aberdeen Asset Management, Crocker Letting and Wightlink. In addition we would like to thank Julia & Graham Bailey ( Aimee), Rob Gray ( Troika), Len Jones ( Rumours) and Peter Nicholson ( Virago) for stepping up as Day Sponsors.

The Edinburgh Cup will be followed by the Aberdeen Dragon European Championship, to be hosted by the Royal Yacht Squadron, Cowes, from Monday 5 to Friday 10 June.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top