Rain causes delay

Stop start stop start for day three of the Princess Sofia Mapfre Trophy

Wednesday April 8th 2009, Author: Corinne Rolland-McKenzie, Location: United Kingdom
The third day of racing in the Princesa Sofia Mapfre Trophy in Palma, third event in the ISAF Sailing World Cup, tested the patience of sailors and race officials with low clouds and rain delaying the expected wind.

The 49ers finally caught up on their sixth race after three attempts and a one hour wait in the rain. The 49er Race Official, Rafael Serrano or more well-known as 'Lucky' started twice the race, but unsatisfied with the conditions, didn’t think twice and cancelled it, waiting for better and fairer conditions to race. The third start for the sixth race for the Yellow group was given after 1600 in light but more constant winds, bringing the two groups with the same number of races.

The Sibello brothers (ITA) claimed today their fourth win, and remain undefeated since the start of the regatta. The British team of John Pink and Rick Peacock moved into second overall after scoring two points in their sixth race sailed on Monday. There are the first, out of four British teams among the top eight.

After waiting a shore and then on the water under the rain, the other classes came back to shore at 4PM. They are expecting more suitable conditions for Wednesday when the Mistral from the northwest is expected to provide some good sailing with average winds and small chops.

Back to the Yacht Club Sylvia Vogl and Carolina Flatscher (AUT), leader in the 470 women fleet, commented their promising first days in Palma. “We have enjoyed these typical Palma conditions with nice waves and predictable wind directions.” The Austrian duo has been training intensively for the last six years leading to the Olympic Games and Palma has been one of their regular training spot, holding no more secrets! “This is the seventh time we come to the Princesa Sofia regatta, we won the event in 2005 so we like very much to come and race here.” Vogl and Flatscher have especially enjoyed the lighter conditions but are well aware that the French team of Ingrid Petitjean and Nadège Douroux are a real threat. “They are really good in the breeze, but even with light wind they had good results, so if the wind increase in the next days, they will be hard to beat.”

Tomorrow, the classes divided in groups, Laser, RS:X and 470 men and 49er, will sail the final stages in Gold and Silver fleets. The other classes will continue racing with the whole fleet.

Top three results (and Brits):

49er (after 6 races)
1. Pietro Sibello-Gianfranco Sibello, ITA (6pts)
2. John Pink-Rick Peacock, GBR (12pts)
3. Nico Delle Karth-Nikolaus Resch (17pts)
Selected GBR
5. Dave Evans-Simon Hiscocks (20pts)
7. Paul Campbell-James-Mark Asquith (26pts)
8. Dylan Fletcher-Alain Sign (27pts)

Finn (after 4 races)
1. Rafael Trujillo, ESP (18pts)
2. Ed Wright, GBR (20pts)
3. Andrew Mills, GBR (22pts)
Other GBR
4. Giles Scott (26pts)
11. Mark Andrews (47pts)

470 Men (after 4 races)
1. Nicolas Charbonnier-Baptiste Meyer, FRA (12pts)
2. Steven Lefevre-Steven Krol, NED (15pts)
3. Lucas Calabrese-Juan de la Fuente, ARG (23pts)
Selected GBR
18. Jonny Moss-Ben Muskett (50pts)
21. Luke Patience-Chris Grube (54pts)
23. Ben Saxton-David Kohler (55pts)
29. Nick Rogers-Pom Green (61pts)

470 Women (after 4 races)
1. Sylvia Vogl-Carolina Flatscher, AUT (12pts)
2. Ingrid Petitjean-Nadege Douroux, FRA (17pts)
3. Henriette Koch-Lene Sommer, DEN (27pts)
5. Penny Clark-Saskia Clark, GBR (33pts)
10. Sophie Weguelin-Sophie Ainsworth (51pts)
16. Hannah Mills-Katrina Hughes (62pts)

RS:X Men (after 4 races)
1. Fabian Heidegger, ITA (8pts)
2. Ricardo Santos, BRA (14pts)
3. Piotr Myszka, POL (15pts)
9. Nick Dempsey (26pts)
28. Elliot Carney (61pts)
31. Richard Hamilton (66pts)

RS:X Women (after 4 races)
1. Marina Alabau, ESP (8pts)
2. Blanca Manchon, ESP (13pts)
3. Flavia Tartaglini, ITA (15pts)
Selected GBR
5. Bryony Shaw (24pts)
16. Izzy Hamilton (60pts)
18. Beth Williamson (66pts)

2.4mR (after 4 races)
1. Thierry Schmitter, NED (8pts)
2. Helena Lucas, GBR (11pts)
3. Andre Rademaker, NED (12pts)
4. Megan Pascoe (16pts)

Laser (after 4 races)
1. Tonci Stipanonvic, CRO (6pts)
2. Nick Thompson, GBR (23pts)
3. Giacomo Bottoli, ITA (24pts)

Laser Radial (after 4 races)
1. Paige Railey, USA (25pts)
2. Anna Tunnicliffe, USA (27pts)
3. Tine Mihelic, CRO (32pts)
Selected GBR
15. Charlotte Dobson (82pts)

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top