International Solidarity Programme recipients

470 class hands out bursaries

Thursday June 4th 2009, Author: Luissa Smith, Location: United Kingdom
The International 470 Class is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 International Solidarity Programme, which provides funding towards the entry fees for 470 Championships. In addition, the International 470 Class in partnership with Olimpic Sails has awarded four sets of sails to sailors.

A record number of entries from all continents were received for the ISP, demonstrating the growing interest in developing the 470 Class around the world. The selection panel, composed of Fernanda Sesto (ARG), Marta Weores (HUN) and Iulia Negoescu (ROU), reviewed all applications and selected the following crews to the ISP who will benefit from free entry fees to the 470 Class Championships as follows:

European Championship /World Championship:

Chile - Aurelia Zulueta and Josefina El uchans - entry fee to the Europeans or to the Worlds (EUR 300)
Hong Kong - Catherine Jing Yi Carroll & Chi Han Yau - entry fee to the Worlds (EUR300)
India - Pallavi Naik and Rohni Rau - entry fee to the Worlds (EUR300)
Bulgaria - Yana Markova and Ina Ilieva - entry fee to the Europeans (EUR300)

Brazil - Thomas Summer and Felipe Brito - entry fee to the Worlds (EUR300)
Canada - Fraser McMillan and Erik Van der Pol - entry fee to the Worlds (EUR300)
Hong Kong - Ping Shun Tong and King Chi Leung - entry fee to the Worlds (EUR300)

Junior World Championship (JWC) /Junior European Championship (JEC)
New Zealand (W) Sarah Berry and Emma Berry - entry fee to the JWC (EUR120)
Serbia (W) Andjelija Milosavljevic and Milena Milosavljevic - entry fee to the JWC (EUR120)

Ireland - Barry McCartin and Finbar Bradley - entry fee to the JWC and JEC (EUR240)
Romania - Mihai Radu and Laurentiu Matache - entry fee to the JWC and JEC (EUR240)

In addition, two sets of brand new sails provided with the support of Olimpic Sails have been awarded by the International 470 Class to two women's crews:

New Zealand - Sarah Berry and Emma Berry
Serbia - Andjelija Milosavljevic and Milena Milosavljevic

The International 470 Class looks forward to welcoming these sailors on the international sailing circuit and we hope the modest support from the ISP will give the sailors the motivation to compete internationally and achieve success.

Supporting the objectives of the ISP to encourage sailors from emerging sailing nations, earlier this year the International 470 Class launched the “YOU Can HELP” programme, with the objective that sailors donate their used equipment to other sailors from emerging sailing nations.

The International 470 Class and Olympic Sails has kick started the “YOU Can HELP” programme by donating two complete sets of sails in very good condition to the following men's crews:

South Africa - Wayne Watkins and David Moorcroft
Cyprus - three applications were received from Cyprus and the National 470 Class Association will decide which applicant will receive the sails.

If any sailors have equipment they would like to donate, please send an email here.

The International 470 Class would like to thank everyone that applied for the ISP this year and although we couldn't support all the applications, all applicants will be contacted about future funding and support opportunities.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top