41 teams already registered for the Wilson Trophy team racing bonanza

Friday February 19th 2010, Author: Georgie Corlett, Location: United Kingdom

Wilson Trophy

The all-important selection process is now underway for the 2010 British Open Team Racing Championship for the Wilson Trophy to decide which teams will get to compete in this most prestigious of sailing events.

At the close of the registration period on Sunday evening, an incredible 41 teams had registered, including seven teams from overseas, 14 university teams and one schools team. A number of teams include top international and Olympic sailors, from around the UK and abroad.

Now, with only 32 places available, hosts West Kirby Sailing Club have begun a special selection process to allocate places.

A list of successful teams will be posted on the event website on Sunday 21 February. Teams not initially selected will be placed on a reserve list.

The world’s premier team racing event this year will take place over 7-9 May. Typically it attracts over 190 competitors, with more than 5000 spectators and 300 organisers and officials. Around 300 races will be organised over the three days, run entirely by volunteers from West Kirby Sailing Club. The Wilson Trophy is the largest team racing event in the world, and is now in its 61st year.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top