Laser Radials head for Largs

Largs to host next month's World Championship

Tuesday June 29th 2010, Author: Lindsey Bell/James Boyd, Location: United Kingdom

Largs on Scotland’s picturesque Clyde estuary takes centre stage from 6 July when the Laser Radial World Championships begin with two world titles at stake - for Men and in the women’s Olympic single-hander class.

As an international sailing venue Largs has provided many unique memories for top sailors, coaches, some treasured and others which served as a vital catalyst on their upward career trajectory. In 1991 when the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championships were staged at Largs, a fascinating duel developed in the Boys’ Laser class between two future world stars who were very much on the ascendancy: Brazil’s Robert Scheidt and New Zealand’s Dean Barker.

“It’s going back a bit,” says Barker, Emirates Team New Zealand’s skipper and helm. “I remember the venue was quite tricky. It was quite landlocked but the sailing conditions were good and over the course of the regatta we got a little bit of everything. In general the weather was pretty good. Robert had put a lot more time and effort into it and came in firing. The biggest lesson for me there was in terms of preparation. I was a bit relaxed going into it, and Robert was fully motivated.

“We stayed in the town in a guest house by the venue and it was pretty nice. The scenery was great, very similar to New Zealand and we felt pretty much at home.”

Gustavo Martinez Doreste, a double 470 Worlds medallist and now a top Spanish helm with the Islas Canarias Puerto Calero team from his native Canary Islands, came to Largs in 1991 as a 16 year old: “I remember it was all green and a little bit cold for us, from the Canary Islands, but I have lovely memories from there because I was very, very young and learned a lot there. We were only 16 and finished second. We were leading the championship until the last race when we capsized. It was very, very windy. We were very young with not much experience. But I did a very good championships with my crew Dimas Wood.

“I remember it was a very, very good event and we were very welcome there. We stayed close to the club and walked there every morning. It was a very beautiful place, so much different to the Canary Islands.

“I will always remember it as green, with big mountains, trees and really friendly people.”

Focus will of course be on the women's competition and the line-up features most of the top players including some unexpected ones. American Anna Tunnicliffe, the Beijing gold medallist, who has graduated up to the Women's Match Racing in this Olympic cycle, is to contest the World Championship where she will face stiff competition as ever from Paige Railey. The Beijing game bronze medallist, Lijia Xu will be among the five Chinese entries competing in Largs.

Current world no.1 in the ISAF rankings, Evi van Acker from Belgium is to participate as is the world no2, Marit Bouwmeester from the Netherlands.

Skandia Team GBR's strong hope comes in Charlotte Dobson, currently ranked no3 in the world, following her strong results recently including a second place at the Laser Radial Europeans and at Hyeres.

Women's entries


Cecilia Carranza Saroli ARG 
Laura Baldwin AUS 
Ashley Stoddart AUS 
Krystal Weir AUS 
Megan de Lange AUS 
Catherine Dapeci AUT 
Evi Van Acker BEL 
Tatiana Drozdovskaya BLR 
Odile Ginaid BRA 
Isabella Bertold CAN 
Chanel Cloutier Beaudoin CAN 
Olga Koubrak CAN 
Ingrid Merry CAN 
Rachael Merry CAN 
Erin Rafuse CAN 
Lisa Ross CAN 
Jennifer Spalding CAN 
Lijia Xu CHN 
Rubei Yuan CHN 
Dongshuang Zhang CHN 
Daiqing Zhou CHN 
Jiangyan Zhu CHN 
Tina Mihelić CRO 
Veronika Fenclova CZE 
Sarah Gunni DEN 
Cathrine Hall DEN 
Alberte Lindberg DEN 
Anne-marie Rindom DEN 
Maiken Schütt DEN 
Alicia Cebrian ESP 
Lucia Reyes ESP 
Fatima Reyes ESP 
Susana Romero Steensma ESP 
Anne-mari Luik EST 
Sari Multala FIN 
Tuula Tenkanen FIN 
Charlotte Abadie FRA 
Sandy Fauthoux FRA 
Menaldo Marie FRA 
Sarah Steyaert FRA 
Mathilde de Kerangat FRA 
Sophie de Turckheim FRA 
Andrea Brewster GBR 
Charlotte Dobson GBR 
Chloe Martin GBR 
Kerry Morgan GBR 
Rheanna Pavey GBR 
Kate Sargent GBR 
Hannah Snellgrove GBR 
Alison Young GBR 
Sophie-marie Ertelt GER 
Lisa Fasselt GER 
Franziska Goltz GER 
Anke Helbig GER 
Lisa Rattemeyer GER 
Paula Steiner GER 
Anna Agrafioti GRE 
Maria Vlachou GRE 
Reka Kare HUN 
Rohini Rau IND 
Mrinalini Santhanam IND 
Tiffany Brien IRL 
Debbie Hanna IRL 
Annalise Murphy IRL 
Nufar Edelman ISR 
Maya Glantz ISR 
Francesca Clapcich ITA 
Laura Cosentino ITA 
Laura Marimon Giovannetti ITA 
Sayoko Harada JPN 
Satoko Hasegawa JPN 
Kanako Hiruta JPN 
Saki Matsunae JPN 
Kaori Takahashi JPN 
Anna Aile LAT 
Ausra Mileviciute LTU 
Saima Plerpaite LTU 
Gintare Sheidt LTU 
Tania Elias Calles Wolf MEX 
Maya Podesta MLT 
Claire Blom NED 
Marit Bouwmeester NED 
Debby Heerkens NED 
Caren Niezen NED 
Amy Righolt NED 
Cathrine Gjerpen NOR 
Kristine Strandenes NOR 
Natcha Uthaug NOR 
Jessica Barrell NZL 
Rachel Basevi NZL 
Catherine Chimney NZL 
Miranda Powrie NZL 
Sara Winther NZL 
Paloma Schmidt PER 
Ewa Makowska POL 
Joanna Maksymiuk POL 
Ewa Szyfter POL 
Natalia Szymczyk POL 
Anna Weinzieher POL 
Sara Carmo POR 
Victoria Chan SIN 
Elizabeth Yin SIN 
Milica Dukic SRB 
Nathalie Brugger SUI 
Erika Fredrikson SUI 
Manon Luther SUI 
Cecilia Jonsson SWE 
Fina Kuikka SWE 
Josefin Olsson SWE 
Sara Sigvardsdotter SWE 
Cagla Donertas TUR 
Pinar Kaynar TUR 
Claire Dennis USA 
Sarah Lihan USA 
Brooke Lyon USA 
Callie Naughton USA 
Paige Railey USA 
Anna Tunnicliffe USA 
Daniela Rivera VEN 

Racing Schedule

Laser Radial Women’s and Men’s World Championships

Pre charter period Monday 28th June to Monday 5th July
Registration and Measurement Tuesday 6th to Thursday 8th July
Practice Races and Opening Ceremony Thursday 8th July
Qualification Series Friday 9th to Sunday 11th July
Final Series Monday 12th to Wednesday 14th July
Prize Giving Wednesday 14th July

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top