Finallists decided

Ed Wright and Lucy MacGregor among the nominees

Monday November 22nd 2010, Author: James Boyd, Location: United Kingdom

The finallists of the 2010 YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year and YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year awards have been announced. The vote for the overall winner now goes to the members of the Yachting Journalists’ Association in a secret ballot. The winner of each award will be revealed at two separate ceremonies during the Tullett Prebon London International Boat Show in January 2011.

YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year finalists include:

Ed Wright

Finn World Champion and double World Cup Winner, Wright is one of the
true heavy hitters of the Finn class. This year he took first place in the Rolex Miami OCR , Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia MAPFRE, the North American Championship and the Finn Gold Cup in San Francisco.

Lucy MacGregor and team.

Ladies World Match Racing Winners. Having gained National, European and World Championship titles and rapidly risen through the ranks to lead the World rankings, Lucy MacGregor and her team are a promising prospect for the future of British sailing.

Geoff Holt

Geoff became the first quadriplegic to sail across the Atlantic when he sailed into the British Virgin Islands on 7 January overcoming personal adversity and achieving his own impossible dream. It took 28 days to complete the 2,700 mile voyage.

Finalists for the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year include

Anya Colley

RYA National British Ski Stock Champion. Six of her World titles and many of her other achievements have been secured in mixed gender competition.

Joanna Freeman and Hannah Mitchell

Joanna and Hannah won the RYA Volvo Nationals in Weymouth in April 2010 and placed fourth at the ISAF Youth Worlds in Turkey, narrowly missing out on a second through protest.

Izzy Hamilton

Izzy picked up her third Youth National title in April 2010. Izzy won a Silver medal at the European Youth Championships in Sopot, Poland and another at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championships in Istanbul, Turkey. Izzy has just successfully defended her class Youth World title in Cyprus becoming Britain’s first ever double windsurfung Youth World Champion.

Winners of both awards will be voted for by members of the Yachting Journalists’ Association. The YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year will
be announced at an awards ceremony at midday on Tuesday 11 January 2011 at Trinity House, Tower Hill, London.

The YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award will be announced
at 14:00 hrs on Saturday 8th January 2011 at the Tullett Prebon London
International Boat Show at ExCel, at the Knowledge Box. RYA Regional
Winners will also be presented with their awards at the ceremony.

RYA Regional Winners are:

East Midlands: Anya Colley*
Northern Ireland: Sophie Murphy
North East: Jordan Muckles
Scotland: Callum Airlie
Southern: Joanna Freeman & Hannah Mitchell*
South East: Richard Thomas
South West: Sam Sills
Thames Valley: Aaron Reynolds
Wales: Ellie Meophan
West Midlands: Sarah Norbury
Yorkshire and Humberside: Connor Bainbridge
North West: Cameron Douglas

*Also finalists for the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top