Photo: Alfred Farre

Zbogar comes out on top

As British wins the 420s at the Palamos Christmas Race

Sunday December 22nd 2013, Author: Jaume Soler, Location: Spain

The 38 GAES Christmas Race finished on the Bay of Palamós with double Olympic medallist, Slovenian Finn sailor Vasilij Zbogar claiming the Absolute Winner title, the Trofeo Manuel Albalat. The absolute youth winner, Trofeo Miguel Company, was the Ukrainian 470 Women's team of Anna Kyselova and Anastasiya Krasko.

Sun and an excellent southwesterly Garbi wind, averaging 15-20 knots, provided excellent conditions for the medal races. All races were sailed according to the schedule with the top ten competitors in each class battling for victory on the last day of racing in Palamós.

Zbogar not only claimed victory in the Finn but won the Medal Race. The Slovenian was in a tight battle throughout the regatta with Estonian sailor Deniss Karpak, who finished second in the Medal Race and second overall. Spain's Àlex Muscat, the 2012 GAES Christmas Race absolute winner, climbed up to third overall to take the final place on the podium.

Great Britain took the title in the 420 class with Max Clapp and Joseph Burns topping the leaderboard ahead of Spain's Paula Barceló and Margarita Alba, the podium completed by Poles Ewa Romaniuk and Kaarzyna Goralska.

Spanish sailor Rogel claimed the 2013 Gaes Christmas Race title in the Laser Standard followed by British sailor Martin Evans and Spain's Joaquín Blanco in second and third overall.

In the Laser Radial Women, Belorussian sailor Tatiana Drozdovskaya won the Medal Race comfortably and her class overall. Second place went to Pole Agata Barwinska with Spain's Mònica Azón third.

In the 470 Women, Ukrainian sailors Anna Kyselova and Anastasiya Krasko dominated the regatta, also winning the Medal Race. Poles Agnieska Skrzypulec and Naalia Wojcik and French sailors Meëlen Lemaitre and Aloïse Retornaz finished tied in points, with the Pole ultimately claiming second.

Winners in the 49er class were French sailors Julien D'Ortoli and Noel Delpeche, who performed well all week, also claiming the Medal Race. Finns Lauri Lehtinen and Kalle Bask and Beijing Olympic gold medallist, Danish Jonas Warrer, together with Peter Orster, took second and third overall respectively.

Denmark climbed to first and third place on the podium in the 49erFX with Lin Ea Cenholt and Jena Mai Hansen's teams, sandwiching the team from Germany.

A tight battle as assured today in the 470 Men with two teams tied going into the Medal Race. Spain's Onán Barreiros and Juan Curbelo demonstrated their experience to claim final victory beating Class Junior World champions Jordi Xammar and Joan Herp. The current class World silver medallists, Pierre Leboucher and Nicolas Le Berre from France, ended up third overall.


Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top