Barlo Plastics announce British Admiral's Cup team sponsorship

They will also support Adrian Stead's IC 45, with Ben Ainslie at the helm

Wednesday December 6th 2000, Author: Mark Chisnell, Location: United Kingdom
Mumm 36 Barlo Plastics at the 1999 Admiral's CupThe announcement that Barlo Plastics was to become the title sponsor for the British Admiral's Cup Team 2001 was made at a presentation at the Royal Southern Yacht Club on Wednesday 6th December. At the same time, Barlo Plastics confirmed that they would continue their relationship with Adrian Stead into a third season.

Stead has already taken two Barlo Plastics yachts to international success. In 1999, the Mumm 36 was top individual yacht at the Admiral's Cup, and in 2000 the Mumm 30 so memorably won the Tour Voile. For the 2001 season, Barlo Plastics will sponsor Adrian Stead's IC 45 campaign that madforsailing reported a couple of weeks ago. Formerly Graham Walker's Indulgence, the new Barlo Plastics is now owned by the Chairman of Serano Corporation, Robert Condon.

Several key members of Stead's crew from the Mumm 30 and Mumm 36 are already committed to Volvo Ocean Race campaigns, including helmsman Tim Powell, so Ado has signed up a new driver. Ben Ainslie will be taking his first serious steps into big boat racing at the wheel of Barlo Plastics.

Richard Faulkner and Kelvin Rawlings will also remain on from the old Indulgence crew, and although Stead reckoned he was a long way down the track in signing other major players, for various reasons he couldn't say more at this stage. Barlo Plastics will race the winter IC 45 series in the Med, before returning to Britain in April.

Along with the sponsorship news, came the RYA's official announcement that Barlo Plastics had been formally selected as the IC 45 for the British team. Chairman of the selection committee, Bill Edgerton, was at the presentation with the news. He also reckoned that there could be nine Farr 40s up for selection in the trials, the programme for which was set out three weeks ago. The winner will be announced on June 10th, 2001.

It looks like we'll know about the Sydney 40 somewhat sooner - arrangements are, 'subject to contract and will be announced shortly'. The programme is strongly rumoured to involve Ian Walker and Andy Beadsworth. Edgerton reckoned that recent changes to the format of the event would be to Britain's benefit - in particular the replacement of the IMS 50 for the one design IC 45, which, "plays to the British strength in one design racing"

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top