British Nautical Awards 2000

Nominations remain open for just five more days

Monday September 25th 2000, Author: Mark Chisnell, Location: United Kingdom
Time is fast running out for nominations for the British Nautical Awards, with the closing date on the 30th September. That also happens to be the final day of the Olympic Regatta, so hopefully someone has already nominated all those currently in medal winning positions - not to mention Ian Barker and Simon Hiscocks, who already have their silver.
The awards are presented at the Boat Show Ball at the Park Lane Hilton, on the 5th January, 2001. The awards are the amalgamation of the previously separate Royal Yachting Association, British Marine Industries Federation and Yachting Journalists Association Awards - and are now the single means of recognising sailing excellence, outside competition wins. Anyone can make a nomination, just call the RYA on 023 8065 0885 to get a form - but you'll need to hurry.

Of the ten category awards, the most relevant to us racing sailors are: the MDL YJA 'Young Sailor of the Year' - awarded to recognise endeavour and achievement by a young sailor in any discipline of the sport, and open to those under 19 years of age on 31 December 2000; then there's the Challenge Business 'Offshore Yachtsman of the Year', I can see Ellen MacArthur and Ado Stead and his Tour Voile winning team giving the voters a headache for that one; the BT YJA 'Yachtsman of the Year' is awarded to the British person whose achievement in the previous year most justifies such a title; and finally the WS Atkins 'Inshore Yachtsman of the Year'.

It's these last two for which there could be a gratifyingly large number of potential recipients - though perhaps it's the entire Olympic Sailing Team GBR that deserve them both.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top