Bermuda invitation

For unseeded skippers to take part in October ADT Gold Cup

Saturday July 13th 2002, Author: MediaPro, Location: United States
The Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (RBYC) invites amateur and professional skippers to apply for 13 of the 16 unseeded skippers' berths in the 2002 ADT Gold Cup, to be raced in Bermuda October 12-20. The winners of the Bacardi and York Cups will fill the three remaining berths. A three-day round robin qualifier round is planned aboard International One Design class sloops, with the top six skippers advancing to Round One of the ADT Gold Cup. The ADT Women's Match Racing Championship - to be held concurrent with the unseeded skippers' qualifier round - will also qualify two skippers for the ADT Gold Cup, the fourth
event on Swedish Match Tour 2002/3.

The winner of the ADT Gold Cup will receive the King Edward VII Trophy and a share of the $65,000 prize purse. For an application, go to the event's official website. Entry deadline is August 1. The confirmed list of seeded skippers will be announced later this summer.

"With its 32-skipper format and qualifying events, the ADT Gold Cup is one of the few regattas in the world to offer amateur skippers and up-and-comers a chance to match race against the professionals," commented RBYC Commodore Les Crane. "While we will miss Russell Coutts and some of the other America's Cup skippers this year, there are a number of highly-qualified skippers that we've already heard from and we expect strong competition for one of the largest purses in match racing."

The 2001 Gold Cup drew an outstanding field of international skippers to the unseeded draw: Gavin Brady (Italy), Mark Campbell-James (U.K.), Christopher Carroll (Australia), Marten Hedlund (Sweden), Morten Henriksen (Germany), Andy Horton (U.S.), Thomas Kozyn (U.S. Virgin Islands), Chris Law (U.K.), Lars Nordbjerg (Denmark), Ken Read (U.S.), James Spithill (Australia) and Markus Weiser (Germany).

Past winners of the Gold Cup now preparing for the America's Cup 2003 include Russell Coutts (six-time winner), Chris Dickson (two-time winner), Rod Davis, Peter Gilmour (two-time winner), Andy Green, Peter Isler and defending champion Peter Holmberg.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top