AC hall of fame inductees

Alan Bond and Gary Jobson honoured

Wednesday August 6th 2003, Author: Dana Paxton, Location: United States
Alan Bond and Gary Jobson have been named as the 2003 inductees to the Herreshoff Marine Museum’s (HMM) America’s Cup Hall of Fame. The two remarkable yachtsmen, whose contributions to the America’s Cup competition have been outstanding over the years, will be honoured at an official Induction Ceremony on Thursday, October 16, 6:30 p.m., at the Union League Club in New York City. The event is a black-tie affair sponsored by longtime HMM supporter Rolex Watch U.S.A and will be the 11th such Induction Ceremony that the HMM has hosted.

Presiding over the Induction Ceremony will be Halsey C. Herreshoff, President of the HMM and America’s Cup Hall of Fame. Tickets are available to the public by contacting the America’s Cup Hall of Fame at 401-465-7610 or e-mailing . Proceeds from the ceremony will benefit the America’s Cup Hall of Fame.

Gary Jobson

Gary Jobson, accomplished sailor and television commentator, has done more to popularise the sport of sailing than any other individual. He combines his thorough knowledge of sailing with a rare ability to describe competition, interpret strategy and convey the excitement of the sport. He has done more in his lifetime to dispel the stereotype that sailing and yacht racing is the exclusive domain of the wealthy and make it accessible and enjoyable to an international audience.

Jobson was an All-American collegiate sailor three times and was twice named College Sailor of the Year (1972, 1973). He later became the sailing coach at the US Merchant Marine Academy and US Naval Academy. In 1977, he was tactician for Ted Turner on Courageous during the team’s successful defense of the Cup against Australia. He was tactician again on Courageous in 1980 and was both founder and tactician of the 1983 Courageous/Defender syndicate.

The quintessential sportscaster, Jobson was named ESPN's Sailing Commentator in 1985, and produces over 30 shows per year. In 1988 he won an Emmy Award for his coverage of yacht racing at the Olympic Games in South Korea. He covered the Games again for NBC in 2000 and will be covering the Games in Athens in 2004.

Jobson is also a prodigious lecturer and writer. He has authored 13 books on sailing and is Editor-at-Large of Sailing World and Cruising World magazines. Over the past 25 years Jobson has given over 1900 lectures throughout the world.

Jobson's contribution to the sport has not gone unnoticed. In 1999 he was awarded the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy, US SAILING'S most prestigious award given annually to an individual who has played a pivotal role in the sport in the United States. Jobson's charisma and generous nature has endeared him in the hearts of millions of his fans.

Alan Bond

Alan Bond, an adventure-seeking entrepreneur, turned his sights on the America's Cup in 1974 with the 12 metre Southern Cross. This boat, designed by Ben Lexcen, lost to Courageous 0-4, but Bond was undeterred and returned again in 1977 and 1980 with the next generation of Lexcen designs.

After three defeats, most challengers would have given up, but in the spirit of Sir Thomas Lipton, Bond tried a fourth and this time made America's Cup history. For the 1983 Cup, Bond challenged with the breakthrough Lexcen designed 12 metre Australia ll. The combination of the legendary winged keel, a well organised syndicate and superb crew set the stage for the 'race of the century'. Australia II had a win-loss record of 44-5 before her final series with Dennis Conner's Liberty. Australia ll, skippered by John Bertrand, won 4-3 over Liberty, and the America's Cup left America for the first time in 132 years.

Pursuit of the Cup was a singular focus for "Bondy" who said "I really believe you only regret the things you don't do." His success, where so many others had tried and failed, was due to his resourcefulness, determination and force of personality.

About the America's Cup Hall of Fame

The America's Cup Hall of Fame was created to honour the challengers, defenders, and legendary personages of the world's most distinguished sporting competition. The present prototype Hall of Fame was established in 1994 in an historic building on the grounds of the former Herreshoff Manufacturing Company in Bristol, Rhode Island, where yachts were constructed for eight consecutive America's Cup defenses between 1893 and 1934. The Herreshoff Marine Museum, situated on this historic site, operates the America's Cup Hall of Fame.

Commencing with its first induction ceremony in 1993, 53 legends of the Cup have been invested with membership. Candidates eligible for consideration include skippers, afterguard, crew, designers, builders, organisers, syndicate leaders, managers, supporters, chroniclers, race managers, and other individuals of merit. Each nominee is judged on the basis of outstanding ability, international recognition, character, performance, and contributions to the sport. The 17 members of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee bring a wealth of knowledge to the selection process. They are persons intimate with the America's Cup tradition of yacht racing and committed to the integrity of the Hall of Fame.

The Herreshoff Marine Museum and America's Cup Hall of Fame are dedicated to preserving, exhibiting, and interpreting the accomplishments of the Herreshoff Manufacturing Company and demonstrating the influence of America's Cup Competition, for the purpose of education, research, and the inspiration of excellence in the world of yachting.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top