Spithill continues his winning ways

Young Australia wins Trofeo Challenge Roberto Trombini match race in Ravenna

Sunday July 4th 2004, Author: James Boyd, Location: Italy
In Ravenna, there saw a great end to the X Trofeo Challenge Roberto Trombini match race regatta organised by the Progetto Vela in conjunction with the Circolo Velico Ravennate and the International Yacht Club Marinara.

The final day was ideal conditions with a sea breeze of 10-12 knots allowing the semi-finals and finals to run smoothly much to the enjoyment of the public who watched from the shore and the water.

The final saw Australian Luna Rossa Challenge new recruit James Spithill beat Dutch sailor Roy Heiner by 3-1. The first race of the final was won by Heiner sailing with the Italian crew of Claudius Celon, Manuel Modena and Raimondo Tonelli.

Spithill levelled in the second race and in the third Heiner put a penalty on the young Australian, but Spithill was able to gain a sufficient lead up the course to divest himself of his penalty further up the course to win by two boat lengths.

The final race saw Spithill pick up a favourable wind shift that were enough to destroy any prospect of Heiner challengeing.

And so with great celebration Spithill won this regatta for the second, one of three skippers to have won this event twice - Magnus Holmberg in 1997-98 and Peter Holmberg in 2000-2001.

The petit-finals were held between Ian Williams and Dane Lars Nordbjerg that saw the British sailor win 2-1 after an agressive race with many protests and more than three contacts between the boats.

The event was raced in Tom 28s designed by Giovanni Ceccarelli.


Spithill d. Heiner 3-1
Williams d. Nordbjerg 2-1

1. James Spithill (AUS)
2. Roy Heiner (NED)
3. Ian Williams (GBR)
4. Lars Nordbjerg (DEN)
5. Michael Dunstan (AUS)
6. Flavio Favini (ITA)
7. Bjorn Hansen (SWE)
8. Matteo Simoncelli (ITA)
9. Paul Campbell James (GBR)
10. Sebastien Col (FRA)
11. Eguenyi Neugodnikov (RUS)
12. Peter Wibroe (DEN)

Skipper Nat 1 2 3 4 5 Tot
James Spithill AUST 1 1 1 3
Matteo Simoncelli ITA 1 1 2
Lars Nordbjerg DEN 1 1 1 3
Michael Dunstan AUST 1 1 2
Roy Heiner NED 1 1 1 3
Bjorn Hansen SWED 1 1 2
Ian Williams GBR 1 1 1 3
Flavio Favini ITA 1 1

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top