Melges head for Marstrand

Fiona Brown previews this week's World Championship

Wednesday August 4th 2004, Author: Fiona Brown, Location: Scandinavia
This week 83 Melges 24 crews from 14 nations and three continents are making their way to Marstrand, Sweden to compete in the 2004 International Melges 24 World Championship from 9-13 August. Crews from as far a field as Australia and California will join the top European teams for what promises to be another very closely fought regatta.

Reigning World Champion Shark Kahn, who turns 15 today, will be back with his victorious 2003 crew of Richard Clarke, Mark Christensen, Brian Hutchinson and Brian Lee to defend his title. Among those leading the charge to divest Shark of his crown are 2001 World Champion Flavio Favini, reigning European Champion Luca Santella, 2001 European Champion Cedric Pouligny, Sebastien Col, Keith Musto, Rob Smith, Stuart Rix, Kristoffer Spone and Shark's father Philippe Kahn.

Five time Finnish Open Champion Kenneth Thelen has his sites set on winning a record third Corinthian (amateur) World title whilst Norwegian Kristian Nergaard will be equally keen to pip him to the post to take a second Corinthian win.

Ten races are scheduled over five days on windward leeward courses just to the West of Marstrand Island. The championship is being hosted by the Marstrands Segelsällskap from their amazing clubhouse located in a fort at the entrance to the harbour. Crews will receive a generous Scandinavian welcome with plenty of opportunities to sample Marstrand's legendary apres sailing opportunities each evening.


AUT531 Michael Schineis
BA152 Marc Ryan
ESP212 Sven Lindahl
FIN214 Esa Harjulahti
FIN236 Kenneth Thelen
FIN253 Jaakko Perimaa
FIN262 Risto Ajanko
FIN316 Johan Neovius
FIN328 Sam Öhman
FIN425 Samuel Thesleff
FIN434 Petri Karto
FIN437 Mathias Dahlman
FIN476 Peter von Koskull
FIN529 Sami Ekblad
FRA170 Follin Adrien
FRA173 Jossier Nikolas
FRA193 Ronan Treussart
FRA252 Jean Paul Douchy
FRA321 Cedric de Kervenael
FRA369 Jermo Aubert
FRA375 Francois Le bourdais
FRA387 Vincent Sauleau
FRA422 Rémy Arnaud
FRA461 Dennis Infanti
FRA470 Sebastian Renault
FRA472 Jourdren Bruno
FRA503 Bernard Reynier
FRA571 Philippe Ligot
GBR190 Robert Corbally
GBR340 Simon Henning
GBR359 Keith Musto
GBR406 Stuart Simpson
GBR431 Quentin Strauss
GBR496 Joe Woods
GBR527 Simon Dobson
GBR554 Richard Thompson
GBR580 Paul Lovejoy
GER325 Jörn Petry
GER465 Christoff Nielsen
GER474 Günter Tzeschlock
GER537 Dietrich Scheder
GER582 Albert Batzill
ITA139 Nicola Celon
ITA409 Maurizio Abbà
ITA438 Enzo Bonini
ITA475 Zanchi Giulio
ITA490 Gianni Giordo
ITA550 Luca Santella
ITA562 Riccardo Diamanti
ITA564 Nicolò Sadelli
ITA579 Andrea Felci
ITA581 Luca Stefanini
MON429 Sogeti Isg
NED112 Razzle Dazzle
NOR249 Kristoffer Spone
NOR279 Jakob Nordenström
NOR307 Peder Bröndmo
NOR341 Erik Arthur
NOR343 Terje Kjaer
NOR349 Jens A. Wathne
NOR357 Carolina Toll
NOR366 Eivind Melleby
NOR374 Bjorn Mörland Pedersen
NOR402 Jörgen G Heje
NOR418 Herman Horn-Johannessen
NOR506 Geir Dahl Andersen
NOR560 Kristian Nergaard
SUI336 Jürgen Wittich
SUI382 Michael Good
SUI521 Franco Rossini
SUI578 Ruedi Huber
SWE145 Jakob Gustafsson
SWE172 Torsten Bergh
SWE230 Fredrik Rege
SWE235 Martin Alvefjord
SWE282 Gustaf Öhrn
SWE283 Jonas Nyqvist
SWE454 Fredrik Wenehult
SWE508 Claes Röjning
SWE532 Ingmar Sundstedt
USA??? Samuel
USA??? Philippe Kahn
USA525 Tim Fay

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top