Torvar Mirsky

Torvar Mirsky

W Australia sailor takes championship

Bruce Montgomery reports on the unofficial world youth match racing championships

Friday February 24th 2006, Author: Bruce Montgomery, Location: Australasia
Torvar Mirsky (Fremantle Sailing Club) beat Evan Walker (Cruising Yacht Club of Australia) 3-1 in the finals of the 2006 RNZYS Youth International on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour on Wednesday.

Mirsky and crew of Logan Sutherland (main) and Robert Senior (bow) lost only three of their 25 matches in the entire series and only lost the second match of the final against Walker because he sailed around the wrong top mark.

In the semi-finals, Mirsky had beaten David Wood (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Blue) 2-1 and Walker who had beaten Phil Robertson (RNZYS) 2-0.

“Our team just clicked and we definitely enjoyed it,” Mirsky said after the final. “It means a lot because it is the last youth event I can do and I haven't won a graded event before.

“This year we are going to stay at home and train, do the Australian and New Zealand nationals and then goto Europe next year.”

Previously known as the Diet Coke Cup, the Youth International Match Racing Regatta started in 1990 when it was won by the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron’s Gavin Brady.

It attracts young sailors from Denmark, Sweden, France, Italy, the US, SouthAfrica, Japan, Australia, the UK and New Zealand.

Final placings
1. Torvar Mirsky (Fremantle Sailing Club)
2. Evan Walker (Cruising Yacht Club of Australia)
3. Phil Robertson (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Red)
4. David Wood (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Blue)
5. Robert Gibbs (Royal Perth Yacht Club)
6. Stuart Pollard (Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron)
7. Hamish Roughley (Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club)
8. Samantha Osborne (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Pink)
9. Theo McDonnell (Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club)
10. Casey Schilling (Balboa Yacht Club)

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top