Victory to Shetland team

At RYA Scottish Match Racing Qualifier

Thursday June 15th 2006, Author: Lindsey Bell, Location: United Kingdom
In near perfect conditions at the Royal Northern and Clyde Yacht Club, Rhu, five teams competed to win a place at the RYA National Match Racing Championships Finals, to be held in October at Weymouth.

On Saturday, teams headed towards the northern shore of Gare Loch for the start of the first round robin in a gusty southeasterly 15 knots of breeze which gradually built over the course of the morning. Racing was postponed at 1pm for two hours as the wind had increased to over 25 knots. When the wind settled back to less than 20 knots, the first round robin was completed. Nicole Johnson led the event, winning all of her matches, closely followed by Graham Tait and local sailor Griogair Whyte with three and two wins respectively.

Sunday dawned with lighter winds and saw the teams out on the boats at 9am. They headed south from the Clubhouse to the more exposed area just off Helensburgh. The second round robin provided some close racing with the wind shifting and swirling around the race course. In the last flight, Johnson unfortunately had her mast break and so forfeited the match, allowing Whyte to gain a vital win putting him in third place after the round robin. Tait and his crew sailed consistently throughout the weekend and tied for first place with Johnson with six wins each.

The Finals and 3rd/4th Playoffs where raced for the first to 2 points. Both Tait and Lennox both sailed well and won both of their matches 2-0.

RYA Racing Services Manager David Atkinson commented. "It was great to be able to extend the National Series to include this event, and thanks must go to Gilmour Manuel and the team at Royal Northern and Clyde Yacht Club for a great event which will hopefully become an annual event in the series."

1. Graham Tait, Ewan Stirling, Bob Yeamans, David Wallace.
2. Nicole Johnson, Christian Hamilton, Chris Frize, Jemima Hardman, Ari Liddell.
3. Allan Lennox, Alastair Smith, Simon Mackay, Grant Simpson.
4. Griogair Whyte, Tristan McMillan, Craig MacDonald, Guy Nicol, Jonathan Tate.
5. Simon Cormack, Robin Smith, Tim Stevens, Duncan Watson.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top