Top skippers head for Malaysia

Monsoon Cup match racing to get under way on 29 November

Monday November 20th 2006, Author: Sean McNeill, Location: Australasia
With racing scheduled to begin Wednesday, 29 November, the line-up has been confirmed for the Monsoon Cup, Stage 6 of the 2006-’07 World Match Racing Tour and the richest sailing event in the world.

The 12 skippers and crews will be chasing a prize purse of MYR 1 million, approximately $275,000. It is the largest prize purse offered in sailing. The winner will earn MYR 250,000, or nearly $70,000.

Heading the lineup is the event reigning champion and match racing world champion Peter Gilmour of the PST team from Australia. Another entrant is current world championship leader Ian Williams of Team Pindar from Great Britain.

America’s Cup syndicates are represented by Jesper Bank of United Internet Team Germany, Paolo Cian of Team Shosholoza, Sébastian Col of Areva Challenge, Peter Holmberg of Alinghi, James Spithill of Luna Rossa Challenge and Wearn Haw Tan of China Team.

The 2nd annual Monsoon Cup features the first ever appearance by a Malaysian woman in professional match racing. Tiffany Koo won the Malaysian Match Racing Championship in September to gain the berth. Koo turns 22 years old on 29 November..

The crews are scheduled to sail a single round robin with the top eight advancing to the quarterfinals. The four winners from the quarterfinal knock out round advance to the semifinals, while the vanquished advance to racing for fifth to eighth places.

The semi-final and final rounds are first to three points. Racing will be held in the Foundation 36, designed by New Zealander Brett Bakewell-White, and will be conducted on Pulau Duyong Basin, in front of the Terenggan Heritage Bay Club.

Monsoon Cup Provisional Entry List
Jesper Bank (DEN) United Internet Team Germany
Paolo Cian (ITA) Team Shosholoza
Sébastien Col (FRA) Areva Challenge
Peter Gilmour (AUS) PST
Björn Hansen (SWE) Team
Peter Holmberg (ISV) Alinghi
Tiffany Koo (MAL) Team Selango Gapurna
Adam Minoprio (NZL) Black Match Racing
Wearn Haw Tan (SIN) China Team
Mathieu Richard (FRA) Saba Sailing Team
James Spithill (AUS) Luna Rossa Challenge
Ian Williams (GBR) Team Pindar

Match Racing World Championship Standings
(After Stage 5 of 15)
1. Ian Williams (GBR) Team Pindar, 47 points
2. Ed Baird (USA) Alinghi, 40 points
3. Paolo Cian (ITA) Team Viano Mercedes Benz, 35 points
T. Jesper Bank (DEN) United Internet Team Germany, 35 points
5. Chris Dickson (NZL) BMW ORACLE Racing, 31 points
6. Mathieu Richard (FRA) Saba Sailing Team, 30 points
7. Sébastian Col (FRA) Areva Challenge, 29 points
8. Jes Gram-Hansen (DEN) Mascalzone Latino – Capitalia, 27 points

The World Tour is sanctioned by ISAF, sailing’s world governing body. The World Tour Partner and Official Car is BMW (Munich, Germany). World Tour sponsors include Sebago (Rockford, Mich.), the Official Footwear Supplier, Travel Places (West Sussex, England), the Official Travel Partner, and Wedgwood (Stoke-on-Trent, England), the Official Trophy Sponsor.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top