Dishing out the silverware

Prizes awarded for Raymarine Warsash Spring Series

Wednesday May 20th 2009, Author: Flavia Bateson, Location: United Kingdom
Warsash Sailing Club was full to capacity on 15 May 2009 when the prizegiving for the Raymarine Warsash Spring Series and Spring Championship took place.

Chairman Peter Bateson thanked the 132 volunteers from the Club who had seen everything run smoothly. Fiona Pankhurst, International Marketing Communications Manager for Raymarine presented the trophies on this the last year of their sponsorship of the event. She had been very close to the action afloat and with her husband Terry carried out race officer duties on the busy Laser SB3 committee boat during the regatta.

As well as 60 prizes for individual classes, special awards were also made. The Commodore’s Cup is presented annually to the outstanding winner of an IRC class. This year it went to Tim Thubron/Activ Power and Sail on the 40.7 Addiction, with the perfect score of four first places in IRC2. The Founder’s Salver is presented in memory of Tom Couzens, a Hamble harbour master who helped form Warsash Sailing Club 52 years ago. Sarah Allen ( Sailboat Deliveries) was the recipient as an outstanding helm in the Laser SB3 class and winner of the Spring Championship. The Raymarine Trophy is donated by the event sponsor to a boat or individual on merit. This year it went to Victoria Gregory and Rob Larke on the J/80 Joystick in recognition of their taking 14 of the 17 races and coming top overall in both the Spring Series and Spring Championship.

Raymarine Warsash Spring Series and Spring Championship
Class winners 2009

Spring Series White Group
Hunter 707 Lutine Belle Liz Lotz and Peter Young
J/80 Joystick Victoria Gregory and Rob Larke
Laser SB3 Cre8tivity Geoff Carveth

Spring Championship White Group
Hunter 707 Betty Jon Powell
J/80 Joystick Victoria Gregory and Rob Larke
Laser SB3 Sailboat Deliveries Sarah Allan

Spring Series Black Group
J/105 Java Rob Dornton-Duff
J/109 J-Dream David and Kirsty Apthorp
IRC4 2XS Andy McCormack
IRC3 Mongoose Patrick Snowball
IRC2 Addiction Tim Thubron/Activ Power & Sail
IRC1 Panacea John Patterson

Spring Championship Black Group
40.7 Portia Andrew Iyer
45 foot Werewolf Jerry Otter
BB1 Cutting Edge Robert Lutener and Martin Elwood

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top