RC44s in 2009

New Championship Tour announced including a special double points scoring Gold Cup event in Dubai

Tuesday February 10th 2009, Author: Bernard Schopfer, Location: United Kingdom
Details of the RC 44 Championship Tour for 2009 have been announced as it goes into its third season with the support of DHL (official logistics partner), BMW (official car) and SLAM (official clothes).

The Championship Tour 2009 will comprise six regattas held in five different countries (Spain, Italy, Austria, France and the UAE).

World renowned teams and sailors will once again participate in the tour, making it one of the world’s prime sailing events. The list includes Torbjorn Tornqvist/Dean Barker (Artemis), Chris Bake/Cameron Appleton (Team Aqua), Stéphane Kandler/Sébastien Col (K-Challenge), Russell Coutts (BMW ORACLE Racing), Maciej Nawrocki/Karol Jablonski (Team Organika), Pieter Heerema/Philippe Presti, Igor Lah/James Spithill (Ceeref), Daniel and Jose Calero, Luis Doreste and many more.

The main features of the RC 44 Championship Tour are the logistical support brought to the teams, the quality of the venues, the level of hospitality and, of course, the one-design and unique pro driver / owner-driver - match race / fleet race concept.

“Our focus is on the teams”, comments Class manager Bertrand Favre. “Our goal is to support them as well as we can, for example by coordinating the transport of the boats, announcing the dates and venues a long time ahead, and providing an exciting program both on the water and on land.”

The RC 44 Class provides a strong logistical and financial support to the teams. For examples, customs paperwork is facilitated and accelerated, shipments are organised, and occasionally financed. The boat owners, sponsors and guests of the Class also benefit from a free BMW shuttle service, for example from the airport or to a restaurant.

The season’s first regatta will take place in two weeks. Organised by Puerto Calero, a superb real estate development on Lanzarote's seafront, the Puerto Calero Islas Canarias RC 44 Cup will begin on Wednesday 25 February with a match racing event. After a full round robin held in two days, the team owners will take (or keep) the helm for three days of fleet racing. The DHL Trophy regatta will take place on Sunday; it will count for double points. The winner of this race will be awarded with the DHL Trophy, while points fromthe regatta will be incorporated into the fleet race results.

From there the championship will take the fleet to Cagliari (ITA), Gmunden (AUS), Malcesine (Lake Garda, ITA), the South of France and Dubai, where the season champions will finally be crowned on 29 November, at the end of the RC 44 Gold Cup. For the first time, the Gold Cup will count double, making it a must-attend regatta for all the teams.

The teams involved in the Puerto Calero Islas Canarias RC 44 Cup:

Ceeref, Igor Lah / Sébastien Col
Team Aqua, Chris Bake / Cameron Appleton
Artemis, Torbjorn Tornqvist / Dean Barker
BMW ORACLE Racing, Russell Coutts
ESP – 1 Islas Canarias Puerto Calero – José Calero / José Maria Ponce
ESP – 2 Islas Canarias Puerto Calero – Carlos Morales / Luis Doreste
Team Organika – Maciej Nawrocki / Karol Jablonski
NED 18 – Pieter Heerema / Philippe Presti


24 February 24 - 1 March - Puerto Calero Islas Canarias RC 44 Cup, Puerto Calero Spain, Canary Islands, Puerto Calero
22-26 April - Cagliari RC 44 Cup, Yacht Club de Cagliari, Italy, Cagliari
25-31 May - RC 44 Austria Cup, Profs Austria, Lake Traunsee, Austria
8-12 July - RC 44 Malcesine Cup 2009 Continental Challenge, Fraglia Vela Malcesine, Italy, Lake Garda, Malcesine
29 September-4 October TBC
25 - 29 November - Dubai RC44 Gold Cup, DIMC, United Arab Emirates, Dubai

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top