Record entry

56 entered for this weekend's UK based J-Cup

Monday August 14th 2006, Author: Becci Eplett, Location: United Kingdom
A record entry of 56 boats (which includes a fleet of 26 J/109s) will be competing on the Solent in the 2006 J-Cup this coming weekend. The event is being hosted by the Royal Southern Yacht Club in Hamble and the event sponsors are B&G, Dubarry, Bolle and North Sails. Racing will take place from Thursday through to Saturday and in addition to the tight and competitive racing an extremely energetic social programme is planned for the event.

Racing will take place in four classes and all models from the J Boats range are invited to compete at the event. The 26 J/109s in attendance will be racing according to their strict Class One-Design Rules and are competing for their 2007 UK National Championship title. This is by far the largest regatta turnout of J/109s anywhere in the world so far; an astonishing testament to the success of this 36 footer and to the close and competitive racing for which this young Class is renowned.

In the J/109 Class, the favourite has to be Zelda, the J/109 of Ben Richards and Michael Ewart-Smith. Not only is Zelda is the defending National Champion but the team are also fresh and fast following a convincing One-Design Class win at Skandia Cowes Week. However, Zelda will have her work cut out; whilst the J/109 Class Rules limit the number of professional (category 3) sailors that are allowed to race on the boat, the superb sport that can be found in this class is a huge pull for our top UK sailors and there will be some serious talent racing J/109s on the Solent this weekend.

The J/105s will also be racing in Class according to their One-Design Class Rules and the clever money is on Shaun ‘Spud’ Murphy and his team racing Slingshot. With the 2006 J/105 National Championship title under his belt, in addition to the RORC 2006 Double Handed Series, Shaun and Slingshot are clearly slippery and fast at the moment. That said, they are by no means unbeatable and the racing in the J/105 Class is always close.

Kevin Sproul holds the current J-Cup Trophy, which he won last year in his J/80. He will be racing again this year but will have his work cut out. Quite simply, the competition is hotter and more plentiful this year than ever before and Sproul is not likely to have things all his own way.

Of the big boats, the J/120s and the J/133s are all set for a full-on showdown. Ian Matthew’s J/120 Jinja (class winner for the last two years) and Stewart Hawthorn’s J/133 Jump (B&G Prize-winner and 2004 J-Cup Champion) will be head to head in the same Class along with three other J/120s and three other J/133s.

Racing starts on Thursday 17th of August and the entry list is still open.

Entries so far:

Boat Name Owner Model
Wild Child Jason Rolf J 105
Fay J Paul Griffiths J 105
True Love Paul Hooker J 105
Just Aquaholix Debbie Hall, Joanna Finn & Siobhan Hayes J 105
Journeymaker 5 Chris Jones J 105
J-Dream David & Kirsty Abthorpe J 105
Diablo-J Nick Martin J 105
Panther Andrew Tristram J 105 
Jeez-Louise Jamie Arnell J 109
Batfish Bill Blain J 109
Zelda Ben Richards & Michael Ewart Smith J 109
Wow Tony Cross J 109
Jangada Too Richard Palmer J 109
J2Eau Steve & Jody Maine J 109
Red Arrow Jorg Lobbedey J 109
Jura Kevin Moll J 109
Shiva Matthew Boyle J 109
Jumping Jellyfish Jason Eker J 109
Jahmali Mike & Sarah Wallis J 109
Jacob's Ladder David Hunt J 109
Jugular John Pickles & Sandra Beverage J 109
Firestorm Philip Smith J 109
Offbeat David McLeman J 109
Johnny Blue II Chas Ivill J 109
Beth Guy Knight J 109
Jambo Kate Buckingham & Nick Fry J 109
Jalapeno Nigel Brooke J 109
Jo Jo Gunne Richard Creer J 109
Basic Instinct Shaun Curran J 109
Me Julie James George J 109
Aria Luca Rubinelli J 109
Newton's Wonder Peter Bresnan J 109
Jumunu Alisatair Ray J 109
High Tension Andrew Given J 109 
Oojah Peter Tanner J 110
J'Ouvert Jonathan Webb J 120
Jinja Ian Matthews J 120
Trion Tony O' Toolle J 120
Quicksilver VI Graham Hall J 133
Jump Stewart Hawthorne J 133
Jacana David Munro J 133
Jellina Mark Lloyd J 133
Jin Palace Pippa Sullivan  J 80
Jane Kevin Sproule J 80
Savage Sailing Team Liz Savage J 80
Jura Robert Napier & Helen Foster J 80
Just Chilling Stephen Chiverton J 80
Jevan Rob Fox J 80
Forza! Andy Dennis J 92
Neilson Redeye Pete & Pip Tyler J 92
J'Ronimo Charlie Wise & Phil Thomas (D Greenhalgh) J 92
Nebulas Robert Garlick & Mike Franklin J 92
Just Enough Andy Hill J 92
Just In Time Andrew Roberts & Steve Etheridge J 92 S
Dragonfly Luke Bond J 92 S
Solan Goose Peter Olden J 92s

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top