Trophée Clairefontaine

Catamaran racing for the stars - prize giving today; dates for 2004 announced

Monday December 15th 2003, Author: Isabelle Musy, Location: France
The 15th Trophée Clairefontaine is to take place next year at La Trinité-sur-Mer, on 2-5 September.

The 2003 top three champions will be invited to compete again in 2004 - Michel Desjoyeaux, Loïck Peyron and Alinghi's Ernesto Bertarelli, who impressed everyone in 2003.

Franck Cammas, who won the Trophée Clairefontaine in 2000, will be invited again in 2004. Skipper of the 60ft trimaran Groupama Cammas is the 2003 60ft multihull (ORMA) champion having won the double-handed Transat Jacques Vabre and all but one of the Grand Prix on the ORMA circuit this year.

Jean-Pierre Dick, who won the Transat Jacques Vabre in the 60-footer monohull class and will be a serious contender in the Vendée Globe 2004-2005.

Philippe Presti, double Finn World Champion and recent winner of the Trophée Véolia Environnement, who represent both Olympic sailing and match-racing world. He, like Dick, will be participating in the Trophée Clairefontaine for the first time.

British sailing star Ellen MacArthur will of course be invited again.

The future winner of the Solitaire Affelou Le Figaro 2004 will also be among the contenders as it was the case in 2002 according to an agreement signed with the organisers of the famous single-handed one design race.

Since its creation in 1990, the Trophée Clairefontaine is the only one-design event to gather champions from various sailing disciplines in order to show what a unique and varied sport is sailing.

At the Morbihan stand of Espace Bretagne at the Salon Nautique in Paris today Jean-Marie Nusse, the director of Clairefontaine, handed the prizes for the XIV Trophée Clairefontaine. Michel Desjoyeaux won the Champion of Champions title for snatching the victory of Loick Peyron after a tight battle. Ernesto Bertarelli and his Team Alinghi finished in third place overall.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top