Richardson wins Farr 40s

At conclusion of Rolex Big Boat Series in San Francisco

Thursday September 19th 2002, Author: Dana Paxton, Location: United States
From the J/105 class with 33 boats to the exotic Americap entries such as a Schock 40 and a Farr 395, the 2002 Big Boat Series presented by Rolex drew a diverse fleet of 109 boats complete with one-design champions, America's Cup contenders, Olympic medallists, Rolex Yachtsmen and Volvo Ocean Race winners. Over 1,000 sailors converged on this legendary yacht club for a chance at winning one of five perpetual trophies and a Rolex timepiece. Racing in two Americap classes and eight one-design fleets took place on San Francisco Bay from September 12-15.

Jim Richardson of Boston, Mass./Newport, R.I., steered his Farr 40 Barking Mad to a victory in the fiercely competitive 20-boat fleet that included two-time Olympic Gold Medallist and Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Mark Reynolds of San Diego, Calif, who sailed with Brack Duker on Revolution and John Kostecki, fresh off his win of the Volvo Ocean Race with illbruck, who called tactics for local favorite Samba Pa Ti, owned by John Kilroy.

Richardson won the Keefe-Kilborne Memorial Trophy, which was established in 1976 to honor Harold Keefe and Ray Kilborn. This is a season of victory for Barking Mad. Less than two months ago it was named Best Performing Boat at New York Yacht Club's Race Week presented by Rolex. Richardson's next stop is the Rolex Farr 40 World Championship to be held in the Bahamas in November.

Good Timin' wasn't just the theme of the prize that San Franciscans Phil Perkins and Dave Wilson won, but it is also the name of their runaway winner in the J/105 class. Perkins and Wilson dominated the largest fleet of the regatta with a 20-point lead over the second-place boat. Good Timin' was awarded the Richard Rheem Perpetual Trophy, which was established in 1972 in memory of Richard Rheem, whose famous yacht Morning Star was the elapsed time winner in the 1949 and 1955 Transpac races to Honolulu.

This was the first Big Boat Series for Jim Demetriades of Los Angeles, Calif. aboard his Transpac 52 Yassou and for the team that is made up of old friends, the victory was especially sweet. This was the first time that the newly organised Transpac 52 class has raced as a one-design fleet and Yassou's debut included five first-place finishes and two seconds against four other boats. In addition to a Rolex timepiece, Demetriades also won the Atlantic Perpetual Trophy, which was established in 1978 and features the ship's bell of the yacht Atlantic, long-time transatlantic record holder (1905). The bell was donated by John C. 'Jack' Morris and the trophy by Jack H. Feller Jr.

John McLaurin of Encino, Calif. sailed his Pendragon 4 to a convincing victory in the 10-boat Americap II A class and earned the St. Francis Perpetual Trophy. MacLaurin's Davidson 52 listed Mark Christensen and Richard Clarke (also with illbruck) as crew. Clarke is a two-time Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year.

The St. Francis Perpetual Trophy was established to stimulate and encourage competition among large ocean racing yachts. This trophy is awarded annually to yachts invited to a race or series of races that are measured and handicapped in accordance with the current measurement rule and rate 40 feet or more. This trophy was donated in 1964 by Commodore A. L. Sandy McCormick.

Paul Kent of Corte Madeira, Calif., won the City of San Francisco Trophy, which is one of the two golden spades used to break ground for the Golden Gate Bridge in 1933. Kent sailed his Farr 395 Chance to an Americap II B fleet victory over eight other competitors.

The regatta will be highlighted on ESPN's "Best of the West," hosted by Gary Jobson and Paul Page and scheduled for broadcast in the Fall.


1D35 Class (7 boats)

1. Zsa Zsa, Bill Wright, Larkspur, 2-5-3-2-3-1-1, 17 points
2. Koinonia, Doug Ament, San Diego, 6-1-4-1-2-4-4, 22
3. Tabasco, John Wylie, San Diego, 1-3-5-3-4-2-6, 24

Beneteau 40.7 (5 boats)
1. Mojo Rising, Ben Oldham, Point Richmond, 1-1-3-1-1-1-1, 9 points
2. Battant, Chris Herron, Tiburon, 2-5-2-2-2-2-2, 17
3. Tout Suite, Tim Merrille, 3-3-4-6-4-3-3, 26

Express 37 (8 boats)
1. Golden Moon, Bridge/ Richards, Oakland, Calif., 2-2-2-1-3-2-2, 14 points
2. Eclipse, Mark Dowdy, San Francisco, Calif., 1-1-3-2-1-3-9, 20
3. Bladerunner, Mick Shlens, Palos Verdes Estates, Calif., 3-3-4-3-2-5-5, 25

J120 (7 boats)
1. Chance, Barry Lewis, Atherton, 1-1-2-2-5-4-3, 18 points
2. Mr. Magoo, Steve Madeira, Menlo Park, 2-3-3-3-3-2-2, 18
3. Dayenu, Don Payan, Hillsborough, 3-2-6-1-1-6-6, 25

Farr 40 (20 boats)
1. Barking Mad, Jim Richardson, Boston, Mass./Newport, R.I., 4-2-1-2-12-1-2, 24 points
2. Peregrine, David Thomson, Woodside, 6-4-5-7-5-2-8, 37
3. Shadow, Peter Stoneberg, Orinda, 3-12-4-6-6-3-3, 37

J105 (33 boats)
1. Good Timin, Phil Perkins/Dave Wilson, San Francisco, 1-3-1-4-7-1-2, 19 points
2. Blackhawk, Dean Dietrich, Palo Alto, 11-6-16-2-1-2-1, 39
3. Nantucket Sleighride, Peter Wagner, Atherton, 2-4-4-5-8-11-5, 39

Transpac52 (5 boats)
1. Yassou, Jim Demetriades, Los Angeles, 2-1-2-1-1-1-1, 9 points
2. Alta Vita, Bill Turpin, Los Gatos, 1-2-1-3-4-5-2, 18
3. Victoria 5, Michael Campbell, City of Industry, 4-3-3-2-3-2-3, 20

Santa Cruz 52 (4 boats)
1. Winnetou, Martin Brauns, Los Altos Hills, 2-1-5-1-1-1-2, 13 points
2. Elyxir, Paul Ely, La Selva Beach, 3-2-3-2-2-2-1, 15
3. Morgana, Robert Magoon, San Leandro, 1-4-2-4-3-3-3, 20

Americap II Class A (10 boats)
1. Pendragon IV, John MacLaurin, Encino, 2-1-4-4-1-1-2, 15 points
2. Cita, Cita Litt, Newport Beach, 6-3-1-1-2.5, 5-1, 19
3. Icon, Richard Robbins, Edmonds, Wash., 1-4-9-3-7-2-3, 29

AMERICAP II Class B (10 boats)
1. Chance, Paul Kent, Corte Madeira, 3-4-1-3-1-4-1, 17 points
2. Scorpio, John Siegel, San Francisco, 2-3-2-4-4-1-2, 17.1
3. Copernicus, Bob Garvie, Incline Village, Nevada, 1-1-3-2-6-3-3, 20

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top