World Match Racing Tour heads for Denmark

Danish Open moves to remote island in the middle of the Baltic

Tuesday September 7th 2010, Author: James Boyd, Location: Denmark

The ISAF World Match Racing Tour heads to Denmark this week, with a new venue, Bornholm, an island on the Baltic Sea. Denmark has been a happy hunting ground for Danish match racing in the past eight years with no less than six victories recorded by its leading sailors. This year, the likes of Mathieu Richardof French Match Racing Team and Adam Minoprio of ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing will head a pack of teams keen to redress the balance.

With the Danish Open being one of just two remaining events for teams to qualify for the Championship deciding Monsoon Cup, the 2010 Danish Open has all the hallmarks to be one of the most competitive and fiercely fought match racing contests of the year so far. Last year, the action was peppered with penalties and upsets, with the fierce race between Peter Gilmour of Yanmar Racing and Dane Jes Gram Hansen of Trifork Racing in the semi-final epitomising the heated nature of match racing.

Gilmour reflects: "The rivalries, the contentious decisions and moves in the heat of the moment, the bragging rights, up close action... they're what make match racing unique and the Danish Open so memorable! I've got scores to settle this year and I'll be looking to crank up our output in Bornholm to push Yanmar Racing up the Tour rankings."

In 2010, the Danish Open will shift location from the city of Aarhus to the 'Bright Green Island' of Bornholm where a melting pot of talent will compete for the honours over 8-12 September. Six of the top seven teams in the 2010 ISAF World Match Racing Tour Championship are on the entry list, including current leader, Mathieu Richard, defending World Match Racing Champion Adam Minoprio and TeamOrigin's Ben Ainslie. In addition there are four-time World Match Racing Champion Peter Gilmour, former World Champion Bertrand Pacé of Aleph Sailing Team, Australian Torvar Mirsky, Azzurra's Francesco Bruni, Swede Björn Hansen, who complete the group of Tour Card Holders set to compete.

An exciting crop of Wildcard entries is headed up by local match racer, Mads Ebler, the young 20-year old Kiwi William Tiller of Full Metal Jacket Racing Team, plus Dane Susanne Ward and American Michael Buckley.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top