J-Dream is Yacht of the Year

Prizes awarded for the Garmin Hamble Winter Series

Monday December 13th 2010, Author: Jonty Sherwill, Location: United Kingdom

At the 2010 Garmin Hamble Winter Series prize giving on Saturday evening this year’s class winners received their trophies, and also the Garmin Yacht of the Year and Garmin Sportsboat of the Year winners were announced.

There was much anticipation amongst the assembled crews as the contenders for the two top awards were read out, and for the second year running it was David and Kirsty Apthorp’s J/109 J-Dream chosen as the Garmin Yacht of the Year. Although their 11 point overall score was matched by four other Black Fleet classes, the combination of consistent performance, class size, and competitiveness swung it in their favour for a second time.

In the White Group racing for sportsboats, it was Jo Llewellyn, Nigel Wakefield & Jeremy Vigus' winning Laser SB3 that was chosen as Garmin Sportsboat of the Year. After a series-long tussle with David Cummins 'Rumbleflurg' this class was settled on the final day of racing.

The charities supported by the event, Sail4Cancer, The Hamble Inshore Lifeboat, and the John Merrick’s Trust were presented with cheques, as was Toe in the Water that had a fund raising party at Hamble River Sailing Club during the series.

Having presented the trophies, including a presentation to competition winner 11-year-old Kimberley Arné who had designed this year’s Garmin backstay flag, Garmin’s Anthony Chmarny concluded the evening, and to much applause, by announcing that Garmin will sponsor the 2011 Hamble Winter Series.

2010 Garmin Hamble Winter Series - Overall Results:

Black Fleet:

1st 'Jua Kali ' Mervyn Hughes, 17 points
2nd 'Biela' Richard Barnes, 20
3rd 'Paragon' Michael Blair, 24

1st 'Vortex' Tim Harrington, 11 points
2nd 'Visit Malta Puma' Phillipe Falle, Sailing Logic Ltd., 14
3rd 'Interceptor' Stuart and James Wilkie, 33

1st 'Steady Barker' Michael Brough, 15 points
2nd 'Elaine' Mike Bridges, 20
3rd 'Starspray' Bateson Family, 31

1st 'Jika-Jika' Mike and Jamie Holmes, 11 points
2nd 'Scarlet Jester' Jamie Muir, 26
3d 'Beneteau First 30' Kevin Sproul, 48

1st 'Patriot Games' Paul Blowers and Nick Daniels, 11 points
2nd 'Polly' Ben Meakins and Adrian Cudmore, 15
3rd 'Crakajax' Ursula Bagnall & Richard Hollis, 33

Sigma 38
1st 'Festina Lente' Meakins Family, 11 points
2nd 'With Alacrity' Chris and Vanessa Choules, 18
3rd 'Rapscallion' Peter Diamond, 22

1st 'J-Dream' David & Kirsty Apthorp, 11 points (2010 Garmin Yacht of the Year)
2nd 'Offbeat' David McLeman, 25
3rd 'Outrajeous' Richard & Valerie Griffith, 27

White Fleet:

Laser SB3
1st GBR3082 Jo Llewellyn, Nigel Wakefield and Jeremy Vigus, 26 points (2010 Garmin Sportsboat of the Year)
2nd 'Rumbleflurg' David Cummins, 32
3rd 'PB11' Mark Gillett and James Ross, 63

1st 'Oil!’ John Cooper, 21 points
2nd 'Aqua-J' Mark Liardet, 32
3rd 'Swallow' Gordon Craigen, 41

SBR Sportsboats
1st 'Big Grin' Gary Shaffer, 5 points
2nd 'X-Tatic' Ian Wilson, 9
3rd 'Lutine Belle' Lloyd's Yacht Club, 20

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top