34th America's Cup measurement committee appointed

Nick Nicholson to lead trio

Wednesday December 22nd 2010, Author: James Boyd, Location: United States

The Measurement Committee for the 34th America’s Cup has been appointed. Joining Chief Measurer Nick Nicholson (USA) is Carlos de Beltran Gutierrez (ESP) and Shaun Ritson (AUS).

Nick Nicholson leads the committee with experience as a measurer since 1979, including in five previous editions of the America’s Cup.

“Nick has the respect of the teams and competitors and they’ve all voted overwhelmingly that he’s the person they want in this position,” said Iain Murray, the Regatta Director.

Shaun Ritson is a naval architect and marine engineer who was a member of the Measurement Committee for the 31st and 32nd editions of the Cup. He is Chief Measurer for the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-2012, and was a member of the VOR Rule Management Group from 2003 to 2009.

Carlos de Beltran is a Measurer and Race Officer for the Spanish Sailing Federation, and is finishing his naval architecture degree in Spain. He served as an assistant to the Measurement Committee during America’s Cup 32, and is a member of the Measurement Committee for the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-2012.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top