Kurt Arrigo / Rolex

Swans gather in Cowes

46 boats to contest European Regatta next week

Friday July 8th 2011, Author: Cailah Leask, Location: United Kingdom

Nautor’s Swan is in the final lead up to the Swan European Regatta, running over 9-15 July from Cowes. 2011 marks the 15th anniversary of one of Swan’s flagship events. Hosted by the Royal Yacht Squadron, the regatta has attracted a number of international entries from eight different nations.

46 Swans will participate across four Classes; A, B, C and the Swan 45 Class.

The Swan 53 Silveren Swaen is on her way to Cowes. Her owner Piet-Hein Bakker commented: "We are aiming to continue our winning streak from the Rolex Swan Cup last year at Porto Cervo into 2011 on UK waters with Silveren Swaen. Having taken second place at the 2009 Swan European Regatta previously, a first place this year is definitely a priority for myself and the team.

"We have updated our sail inventory in preparation and made a few modifications to the Swan 53 in order to maximise her performance at Cowes. I have chosen to race with the same core crew as they really understand the Swan characteristics under race conditions. I am also looking forward to some family cruising around the UK with after the regatta to enjoy time on board Silveren Swaen away from the race circuit."

Silveren Swaen has a very good rating and won her class at the Rolex Swan Cup 2010, but will be challenged by the Club Swan 42s Ed Leask's Magical Mystery Tour and from the Netherlands, Piet de Graaf's Baraka GP.

In Class B, the favourite is defending champion German Harald Baum and his Swan 48, Elan, while in Class C the defending champion returns in Alan Major's Swan 41 Moustique, although she is likely to face competition from Stephen James' Swan 38, Jacobite. 

At present in the Swan 45 Class the Belgium-owned Samantaga is leading the 2011 Northern European Circuit and also came third at the last Swan 45 World Championships. However Glynn Williams' WISC is also expected to be a contender, racing on home waters.

Enrico Chieffi, Managing Director of Nautor’s Swan commented, ‘It will be a great pleasure to see so many familiar faces in the Swan Family during the 15th edition of the Swan European Regatta. We are all anxious to see which Swan yachts will be inducted in this regatta’s Hall of Fame at the end of a week’s Solent racing. It is always a privilege at Cowes to see older models from past SwanLines so beautifully restored and still in top pedigree condition racing against the likes of the newer modern designs all with the same synonymous style of Nautor’s Swan."

The first day of Swan European Regatta racing commences on Monday, July 11 with the final prize giving on Friday, July 15. With 30 prizes to win, competition will be on the cards to secure beautifully crafted silverware.

Boat Sail no Model Nat Owner/charterer
Accomplice GBR 1334L 411 British Ray Mitchell
Alvine XV GBR2881 37 British Alastair Evans
Antares FRA 35997 41 French Christophe Montcerisier
Baraka GP NED 42039 42 Dutch H J de Graaf
Best Buddies GER4908 441 German K J Wrede
Billyon GBR9315 38 British A B Maclean
Carte Blanche GBR879 36 British J D Tetley
Cecille GBR997R 36 British P Davies/R Hay
Checkmate NED45026 45 Dutch Peter de Ridder
Christina GBR8710T 40 British D Segel
Cisne NED317 43 British D Collins & T Thorpe
Delnic FRA9210 391 French B Rousselion
Desperado GBR1665 65 British R Lofthouse
Eira 16582 (FIN) 51 Finland S Gylling
Elan GER1950 48 German H Baum
El Tiburon GBR8147T 44 British A Armstrong
Hawkeye NED7583 45 Dutch R Reigwein
High Yield GER5335 45 German Dr H Ostmeier
Jacobite GBR7738R 38 British S L James
Kings Legend NED6572 65 Dutch G van Liebergen
La Belle NED8302 56 Dutch Frans van Belle
Magical Mystery Tour GBR42L 42 British The Leask Family
Marswin BEL 40 Belgium Van Avondt
Motion ITA 14545 45 Dutch L von Oeveren
Moustique GBR2463 41 British Alan Major
Mynx GBR8882R 46 British A C Hill
Nemo of Cowes GBR17R 45 British R Cotter
Raika A-51 53 India Godrej & Boyce MFG Co Ltd
Samantaga BEL4528 45 Belgium P Moortgat & P van Heurck
Selene GBR976R 44 British A M Lower
Shaka GER5822 46 German A Paulsen
Shaytana GBR968R 36 British A Jameson
Sigrid SWE56000 56 Swedish D Eklund
Silveren Swaen NED 53 53 Dutch P H J Bakker
Sloop John ‘T’ GBR9740R 40 British I & G Thomson
Snow Wolf GBR7635T 48 British A Jameson
Swan Galiana GBR5502T 55 British P Green & W Orme
Sway NED5884 43 Dutch P Menken
Taika NED8346 46 Dutch A F Holm
Tangaroa GBR2485L 38 British C Vickery
Uxorious GBR6210L 62 British C Buffin
Vixen GBR1234L 46 British J A Spooner
Van Uden ITA1451g 45 Dutch Harm Tiddens
White Heather GBR37R 44 British Janet & Lionel Miller
WISC GBR45R 45 British G Williams
Xara GBR123 38 British Mr & Mrs J Rolls


Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top