Rick Tomlinson Photography / www.rick-tomlinson.com

Victory to Shmokin Joe

Racing canned due to light winds at the J/111 World Championship

Sunday August 24th 2014, Author: Gemma Dunn, Location: United Kingdom

Day five of the J/111 World Championship dawned with a clear sky, low temperature and no gradient wind. The forecast was for 5 knots at 1030 rising to 8 by noon. With two races left to sail and a 1500 prizegiving ceremony, in view of the light conditions it seemed likely that at best only one race would be sailed.

The overnight leader Shmokin Joe, owned by Duncan McDonald and Phil Thomas, had a strong enough score that if one or less races were sailed the trophy was going home to Brighton with them.

While Shmokin may have felt safe, second place Tony Mack's McFly was under threat from Frédéric Bouvier and his French team aboard J Lance 9. The French had only come together as a team for the event and had gelled as the series progressed to become the boat of the day on day four, the penultimate day.

Down the fleet there were individual battles to be fought; Stuart Sawyer’s Black Dog from Falmouth in fourth was just half a point clear of Cornel Riklin’s Jitterbug from Lymington in fifth. Similarly Jamie Arnell’s Jeez Louise in seventh was just half a point ahead of David and Kirsty Apthorp’s J Dream in eighth.

The Royal Yacht Squadron race team stationed their committee boat to east of the Bramble Bank in the shallow water near Fastnet mark. After two hours of studying a glassy sea, PRO Simon van der Byl took the popular decision to draw the regatta to close. With ten great races completed, no one should feel that they did not have the opportunity to improve their lot.

Thus, following their terrific victory at the J-Cup, Shmokin Joe are the first ever J/111 World Champions! A lavish prizegiving ceremony was conducted on the exclusive platform of the Royal Yacht Squadron. J Boats President Jeff Johnstone thanked the club and volunteers.

The J/111 World Championships top 10:

1. Shmokin Joe. Phil Thomas and Duncan McDonald GBR
2. McFly. Mr and Mrs Tony Mack GBR
3. J Lance 9. Frederic Bouvier. FRANCE
4. Black Dog. Stuart Sawyer. CORNWALL
5. Jitterbug. Cornel Riklin. GBR
6. Journeymaker II. Louise Makin and Chris Jones. GBR
7. Jeez Louise. Jamie Arnell GBR
8. J Dream. Mr and Mrs David Apthorp. GBR
9. Xcentric Ripper. Robin Verhoef and John van der Starre. HOLLAND
10. Sweeney. Hans Zwijnenburg and Kees van Vilet HOLLAND

The 2015 World Championships will be held in June, in Block Island in the state of Rhode Island on the East Coast of the USA. At a lively owner’s meeting held on Saturday night there was tremendous interest from the European teams in competing at that event.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top