Photos: MM Sailingshots

Open Season edges ahead

As the Quantum Racing 'time tunnel' comes to the fore in the TP52s at Gaastra PalmaVela

Friday May 1st 2015, Author: James Boyd, Location: Spain

The second day of racing at Gaastra PalmaVela 2015 saw around 100 boats in 14 different classes compete in three race courses spread across the Bay of Palma in a gentle southwesterly which tested the technical skill of the crews.

76 more boats in nine classes sailed their first races today in Gaastra PalmaVela, joining the 21 boats from four classes that opened batting yesterday. The Race Committee scheduled coastal races for the Wally, Maxi 72, ORC 2 ORC 3 and ORC 4, Vintage and Classic, and windward-leeward races for the rest. The fleet raced in a southwesterly breeze between 5 and 10 knots.

The provisional overall leaders after day two of racing are Open Season (Wally), MOMO (Maxi 72), Quantum Racing (TP52), Grupo Clínico Dr. Luis Senís (IRC), Airis (ORC 0), Fyord (ORC 1), Pinyol Vermell (ORC 2), La Sirena I (ORC 3), Fehurihi (ORC 4), Bribón-Movistar (J/80), Flyinghigh (Flying Fifteen) and Lazy Daisy (Dragon).

Wally: Three within one point

The biggest boats in the Wally fleet made the most of their waterline length to lead the 25 miles coastal race, which begun at 13:00 in 6 knots of breeze, both on the water and under handicap. The first to finish was Thomas Bscher's 107ft Open Season, finishing in a time of 2:53:52 - just three minutes ahead of Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones WallyCento Magic Carpet 3. Under corrected time Bscher's boat came out on top moving the grey giant first first overall, but just one point ahead of Magic Carpet 3 and Jean-Charles Decaux's J One.

Maxi 72: Leader change

Dieter Schön’s brand new J-V 72 MOMO managed to take the best advantage of today’s conditions to claim Maxi 72 honours and the class lead overall, after taking a little over three hours to complete the 25 miles coastal course.

TP52: Master stroke

Quantum Racing was today in absolute control of the TP52 fleet, leading at every mark to win both of two races sailed. The boat helmed by Dalton DeVos ousted Austin Fragomen's Interlodge - helmed by Dean Barker and which scored a 2-3 today - into the second position, the US boat now ahead of Alberto Roemmers’ Azzurra (3-2) by just one point.

IRC: The leader, leading even more

Grupo Clínico Dr. Luis Senís further asserted its lead in IRC sailing another perfect day. Axel Rodger's Grand Soleil 46 holds a perfect scoreline after four races while Andres Varela’s loudly emblazoned X-65 Bultaco, has scored successful seconds, while the Russian Swan 60 Petit Flame is third.

ORC: Massive premiere

The ORC fleet is by far the largest in Gaastra PalmaVela, with 39 boats competing. Today, both ORC 0 as well as ORC 1 sailed two windward-leeward races, while ORC 2, 3 and 4 competed in an 11.5 mile coastal race.

In ORC 0 victories went to, in that order, for German Christian Plump’s Swan 45 Nova Elena and Italian Cesare Bressan’s TP52 Airis, with the Italian boat leading overall, while in third is the GP42 Neo Silva helmed by Dennis Gehrlein (6-2).

In ORC 1, José Luis Maldonado’s X-35 Fyord won both races held and leads overall, three points ahead of José Luis Francés’ Grand Soleil 37 Zas Sailing (3-2) and the X-37 Airlan Aermec (2-3) skippered by Teo Matheu.

Felix Comas’ Pinyol Vermell's came out on top in their coastal race in ORC 2 completing the course in 2:51:10, correcting out to almost two minutes ahead of Edouard Horrach’s Presto with Bernat Rossiñol’s Xalest third.

In ORC 3, the victory went to Alejandro Riera’s La Sirena I (3:12:29), followed by Alberto Torres’ Bulla and José Matheu’s Sirpy while in ORC 4, the winner was Carlos Ros’ Fehurihi after just over four hours of racing, followed by Inblau/Velamar XV and Windfang.

One design: Triple portion

The J/80, Flying Fifteen and Dragon one designs made their debut with three windward-leeward races on the Bay of Palma.

In the J/80, Marc de Antonio’s Bribón-Movistar began the defence of her title with three bullets, returning to shore four points ahead of his nearest rival, José Maria Van der Ploeg’s Nautica Watches (2 -2-4) and eight ahead of Pedro Mari’s Opera Season (5-4-2).

The battle for the Flying Fifteen title is much closer, with three boats each winning races with two now tied at the top of the leaderboard: Patrich Harris’ Flyinghigh (2-3-1) and Ken Dumpleton’s Fflanders (1-2-3) returned to the RCNP both with six points and only three over David Barber’s Fine Fettle (4-1-4).

In the Dragon, the defending champion Robin Hennessy’s Lazy Daisy, also scored a triple victory, to finish the day with a four-point cushion over Kai-Uwe Ricke’s Moonbeam (2-3-3) and five over Carlos Carvajal’s Young Tiger (3-2-3).

Tomorrow, for the third day of competition, all 140 boats from 16 different nationalities registered for 2015 Gaastra PalmaVela will be competing with 2.4mR, Hansa 303 individual and Hansa 303 double, which will fight for the Spanish Cup of Disabled Sailing. The first start is scheduled for midday.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top