New president for ORMA

Jacques Lehn stands down, plus calendar for 2005

Wednesday December 1st 2004, Author: James Boyd, Location: France
ORMA the 60ft multihull class association was created in 1993 by former skipper Philippe Facque to develop the 60ft multihull class. When it ran its first annual championship series in 1996 just four boats competed. Since then the class has taken off with a record number of 18 highly competitive trimarans taking the start line.

Jacques Lehn who has chaired the ORMA since its foundation has now resigned his presidency. He remains at the Fédération Française de Voile and as Vice-President of ISAF's Oceanic Committee.

To replace him will be Gilles Cambournac, one of the founder members of ORMA who has been involved with the multihull class since 1991. On the main ORMA committee Jacky Lorenzetti of Foncia will replaced Jean-Michel Guerin as sponsor representative while Sodebo's Thomas Coville will replace Alain Gautier, who has recently stepped down from the helm of Foncia but will continue to manage the team.

Thus the new committee comprises:

- Gilles CAMBOURNAC - President
- Agnès CARADEC - Founding member
- Jean-Pierre CHAMPION - President FFV
- Thomas COVILLE - Skipper
- Michel DESJOYEAUX - Skipper
- Roger LAIR - sponsor (Groupama)
- Jacques LEHN - Founding member
- Jacky LORENZETTI - sponsor (Foncia)

ORMA have also announced their 2005 program comprising two long distance events and five Grand Prix:

Tour de la Méditerranée - 1-20 May
Corsica Grand Prix - 9-12 June
Marseille Grand Prix - 23-26 June
Vigo Grand Prix - 14-17 July
Fécamp Grand Prix - 1-4 September
Lorient Grand Prix - 21-25 September
Transat Jacques Vabre - 6 November

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top