RORC announce Yacht of the Year

Philippe Falle's Puma Logic awarded

Friday October 16th 2009, Author: Louay Habib, Location: United Kingdom
Puma Logic has been awarded the ‘RORC Yacht of the Year’ and her skipper, Phillippe Falle will collect the Somerset Memorial Trophy at the RORC Prizegiving dinner in London on 7 November.

The famous award is made by the RORC Committee with many factors taken into consideration: In recognition of not only a successful season, but also and in particular, for consistent racing performance while introducing a large number of people to the sport at a highly competitive level.

On hearing the news, Philippe was ecstatic to say the least, and also incredibly proud to be associated with such a prestigious group of yachts that have received the accolade before him.

“It was quite an emotional moment when I heard the news,” said Falle. “I have had an amazing two years with the most remarkable team I have ever sailed with. What makes it so amazing is that we are a sailing school boat; when people join us they have never been racing before. I will treasure the memories of my time with this crew. Winning the Cherbourg Race was a just reward for the efforts of our dedicated team. This honor is the icing on the cake.”

The RORC Season’s Point Championship was won by Bill Blain’s J/133 Batfish III, who had a tremendous season. Puma Logic were second overall and Robin Taunt’s J/109, Jibe was third.

The RORC Season’s Points Championship’s winners:

IRC SZCK Artemis Ocean Racing. IMOCA 60
IRC Super Zero Venemous, Derek Saunders. CM 60
IRC Zero Tonnerre de Breskens, Piet Vroon. Ker 46
IRC One Quokka 7, Andrew McIrvine. Corby 36
IRC Two Exile/Mirabaud, N. de la Fourniere & M. Imbert. X 34
IRC Three Hephzibah. David Lees. High Tension 36
Two Handed Exile/Mirabaud, N. de la Fourniere & M. Imbert. X 34

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top