North Sea Regatta

Simon Kiejzer reports on the inshore and offshore racer

Tuesday June 10th 2003, Author: James Boyd, Location: none selected
2.500 sailors in almost 400 boats and 22 classes raced in this year's North Sea Regatta that finished today. Overall winner of the offshore and inshore parts of the race in IMS 1 was Checkmate, a Bashford Howison 41.

The regatta, open only for IMS and ORC measured boats, started with two offshore races. The first race saw almost 100 Dutch boats race from Scheveningen to Harwich across the busy North Sea. This was followed by RORC's 190 mile long North Sea Race from Harwich back to the Dutch coast. For this race the fleet were joined by a number of English boats.

Inshore racing was then held over four days, with two days of upwind/downwind racing and two longer inshore races. During this the IMS and ORC racers were joined by more than 300 one design classes, including catamarans, sports boats, J/22, J/24 and the Olympic Star class.

Alongside the competition on the water there was entertainment onshore. On arrival back into the old fishermen's dock of Scheveningen the sailors were welcomed daily by Samba bands on the dock. Daily winners were invited to race each other in mini boats during the early evening in the middle of the dock. There was food from various countries for all competitors, followed by a 'spectacle' every evening with live music. For the VIPS and harded alcoholics there was the Johnny Walker Lounge.

On the water 68 IMS boats sailed in 6 classes. The biggest One Design classes were the J/22 and Formula 18 Catamaran each with 38 boats entered.

Overall winners in IMS
Class Name Boat Owner
IMS 1 Checkmate BH 41 Peter de
IMS 2 Xiphias IMS 40 Xiphias
IMS 3 Daikin Airco HOD 35 Frans v d
IMS 4 Cisne Swan 43 Theo van Rongen

IMS 5/6 Balans Pion Ed Brand
Winners in ORC
ORC 1 Big Fingers Rogers 38
ORC 2 Dehlerious Dehler 37
ORC 3 JPH Benteau Figaro
ORC 4 Mad about you X79
One designs winners
Star klasse - Mark Neeleman en
Peter van Niekerk
Yngling Kipling 58 Marcel de Jong
X99 Bleu Nose W.
Mumm 30 Scud
R. Baardmans
J22 Soffe Kim Christensen
J24 Kas Private Banking Paul
Dyas Casablanca Norbert Schmidt
Max Fun Breehorn Lars van den
Sportboot 3-6 Happy Hours Frits Tackenberg
Formula 18 - Gerard Loos
IF 20 - Vincent Huntelman
Hobby 16 - Peter Manvis

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top