Cape to Rio big boats go tomorrow

Hasso Plattner's Morning Glory and two trimarans are in contention

Friday January 10th 2003, Author: James Boyd, Location: Transoceanic
The tension is mounting on the eve of the start of the second fleet of the SAP Cape to Rio race. The classic ocean crossing between arguably two of the world’s most spectacular cities has attracted thirty-three entries, including twelve international entries from Brazil, Germany, England, Australia, Holland, Norway and Denmark.

The German entry Morning Glory is the top contender for a new mono-hull crossing record in this year’s race. The American maxi Zephyrus IV set the current record of 12 days 16 hours 49 minutes and 41 seconds in the 2000 race to win both line and handicap honours.

Dr Hasso Plattner’s Morning Glory also looks all set for a serious attempt to lift the South Atlantic trophy, the coveted award for winning handicap honours in the IRC (International Racing Certificate) monohull class. Plattner is no stranger to this award as he already won the handicap honours on his first Morning Glory, a Reichel/Pugh 50 in 1993 by finishing twenty-five hours under his handicap. The second time in 1996, he sailed the R/P ILC maxi Fancourt Morning Glory to line honours in 14 days 14 hours 52 minutes and 41 seconds and set an elapsed time record.

Morning Glory has been optimised for the downwind conditions of this transatlantic crossing and at 24.4 metres long she is slightly longer than Zephyrus, a more modern design and is therefore more than capable of breaking this record if the weather conditions are favourable.

With the entries of the new racing multihulls, the Swedish trimaran Nicator and the Brazilian catamaran Adrenalina Pura, the record for line honours will now also be contested in a separate multihull category. These two multihulls will be racing under the CRRS (Cape to Rio Rating System) handicap and are sure to shatter the line honours record in the multihull category.

The current multihull crossing record was set ten years ago during the 1993 race when the Mayotte 465 Sea Rose, skippered by Chris King, completed the race in 18 days 7 hours and 24 minutes. In the 2000 race, the St Francis 44 Galileo, skippered by Duncan Lethbridge won both line and handicap honours by finishing in twenty-two days.

The second fleet will leave Table Bay during a spectacular send-off at 1500 on Saturday. A flotilla of water vessels will take to the water to wave out the competitors. A brisk southeasterly is being forecast for tomorrow afternoon and is expected to set the scene for a stunning spinnaker start.

The first fleet is making steady progress with Gawie Fagan’s Suidoos 2 still leading on handicap. Konica/Mallinicks Indaba, skippered by John Levin, has moved up into second position after Julie III had a bad day and only managed to cover 78 miles.

In Class C, the small Miura Inyoni from Port Elizabeth has taken the lead with Nauty 40’s in second position.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top