Last year's start Last year's start

31 for Rolex China Sea Race

Royal Hong Kong YC classic to Manila sets sail on 1 April

Tuesday March 23rd 2010, Author: Betty Chan, Location: Hong Kong

The 25th Rolex China Sea Race, organised by Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club with the assistance of Manila Yacht Club and Subic Bay Yacht Club, will start in Hong Kong’s Victoria Harbour at 1210hrs on Thursday, 1 April 2010.

This Asian blue-water classic will finish in Subic Bay, northwest of Manila in the Philippines, after a grueling 565 nautical miles. The Race is part of Rolex’s portfolio of 'classic 600 milers' and in this case a partnership between Rolex and the RHKYC that commenced in 2007.

The 31 boat entry list combines China Sea Race veterans with many new faces and has attracted several overseas entries, including Jon Wardill’s Cassidy 55, Australian Maid, Fidel/Echauz’s Sydney 46, Subic Centennial and Ray Roberts’ TP52, Evolution Racing.

The Neil Pryde owned Welbourn 52, Hi Fi, will defend her 2008 Line Honours’ title against stiff competition from a healthy racing fleet; the ‘A’ division featuring boats such as FfreeFire 52, Strewth, EFG Mandrake and Evolution Racing. All will be hoping to be the first boat to finish and lift the Daily Telegraph Trophy – and beating the 10 year old Race Record of 47h 43m 07s (set in 2000 by Karl Kwok on his previous Beau Geste) would be a welcome bonus.

Subic Centennial has returned to Hong Kong hoping for a repeat of her 2008 race, when her name was engraved on the China Sea Race Trophy for First Overall on IRC handicap. As this year’s sole Philippine entry, the Sydney 46 will be relying on local knowledge to give her the edge as the fleet enters the notoriously fickle breezes off the Philippine coast.

The 2010 Rolex China Sea Race will continue to offer shore-based fans the opportunity to follow the action online using Pole Star technology to provide satellite-based positional data from each boat, which will be updated at regular intervals during the race.


Boat Name Skipper/Owner Sail No. Type IRC
  Person in Charge      
Romper Stomper TBA UAE 3802 Stomp 38 TBA
Evolution racing Ray Roberts AUS 8898 TP52 1.346
Strewth Geoff Hill GBR 5211L TP52 1.345
Hi Fi Neil Pryde HKG 2112 Welbourne 52 Custom 1.338
FfreeFire 52 Sam Chan HKG 2238 TP52 1.334
FfreeFire 70 Lowell Chang HKG 1892 ULDB Sled 1.317
EFG Mandrake Fred Kinmonth / Nick Burns HKG 2166 Mills 51 Custom 1.279
Moonblue 2 Peter Churchouse CAY 8888 Custom Warwick 64 1.231
Xena Peter Forsythe / Jing Lee HKG 2260 X-55 1.214
Australian Maid Jon Wardill AUS 4100 Cassidy 55 1.181
Subic Centennial Ernesto T. Echauz PHI 9999 Sydney 46 1.171
Redeye Paul Leese / Wayne Thompson HKG 280 J145C 1.163
Ambush Joachim Isler & Andrew Taylor HKG 2208 Mills 41 1.148
Tipsy Frenz C P Wong HKG 1992 Wauquiez Centurion 45S 1.124
Aya Philippe Cotillon HKG 2117 Pogo 10.50 1.118
Crystal Bernd Hanemann HKG 2118 Beneteau First 44.7 1.112
Cloud Y K Szeto HKG 4498 Beneteau First 44.7 1.11
Avant Garde Greg Kearns HKG 2047 Archambault A40RC 1.092
Miss Salona II Sytske Kimman HKG 2287 Salona 42 1.086
Kei Lun Richard van den Berg HKG 1691 Beneteau First 45f5 1.063
Darling Dean Chisholm HKG 2107 Hanse 400 1.057
Dream Ruth Boulet HKG 1800 Taswell 49 1.048
Red Kite II Anthony Root HKG 2093 Archambault 35 1.027
Baringo John Sanderson HKG 1958 Wauquiez 43PS 1.014
Cave Canem Simon Boyde HKG 1092 First 42 1.014
Whiskey Jack Nick Southward HKG 2102 J109 1.013
Vega Thomas Wiesinger HKG 2335 Sun Odyssey 36i Perf 1.008
Dearg Doom Kevin Greene HKG 2116 Bavaria 39C 1
Sell Side Dream Simon Powell HKG 2186 First 34.7 1
Groovy Lo Kai Chun / Chung Siu Hung HKG 1819 Concept 44 (Hyundai) 0.995
Calamansi Chin Wah Ho HKG 1347 Beneteau First 34.7 0.993

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top