No one winner

Results from the Newport-Bermuda Race

Thursday June 24th 2010, Author: John Rousmaniere, Location: United States

No single boat ‘wins’ the Newport Bermuda Race. The classic ocean race has 5 divisions and 16 classes. The 183 boats entered in 2010 raced for over 90 trophies including for five major division trophies under the Offshore Racing Rule (ORR) system and a one major prize for IRC that combines most boats in two divisions that choose to be dual scored. Winners in the 16 classes win perpetual trophies and up to 4-deep keepers.

The St. David’s Lighthouse is often regarded as the main trophy because that division is the largest with 100-plus boats and because it carries on the founder's aim to get amateurs sailing offshore in cruising-racing boats. Winning any division however has its bragging rights.

St. David's Lighthouse Divsion for the St. David's Lighthouse Trophy: Carina, the McCurdy & Rhodes 48, sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook CT) finished at 6:55:06 ADT. Her corrected time was 55:28:27. This division is for yachts with predominantly amateur crew.

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division for the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse trophy: Sir Geoffrey Mulcahy’s Swan 56 Noonmark VI (London, UK) crossed the line at 2:40:18 on Tuesday morning. This Frers designed Swan 56 sailed under the English flag. She had a corrected time of 52:48:32. This division allows full professional crews.

Cruiser Division for the Carleton Mitchell Finesterre Trophy: Neal Finnegan’s Swan 56 Clover III (Dedham, MA) crossed the line at 2:17:11 on Tuesday. One of two Swan 56 to take top prizes, her corrected time was 72:04:49. This division is for mostly amateur crews sailing cruising style boats

Double Handed Division for The Moxie Prize: Jason A. Richter’s J/35 Paladin (Mt. Sinai, NY) co-skippered by Robert Fischer (Patchogue, NY). Paladin’s corrected time was 73:30:36. One professional is allowed, if that person is the owner.

Open Division for the Royal Mail Trophy: Mark Watson (Hamilton. Bermuda) skipper of the US Merchant Marine’s Dubois 90 Genuine Risk finished on Monday at 7:48:45. The corrected time was 53:43:32. This division is for cant-keel boats with full professional crews allowed.

Combined Gibbs Hill and St. David’s Lighthouse Divisions for the IRC North Rock Beacon Trophy: Carina, the McCurdy& Rhodes 48,sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook, CT), finished at 6:55:06 Tuesday morning. Her IRC corrected time was 91:57:51.

Full results here

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top