Assa Abloy joins Legends regatta

11th boat signs up for the grand gathering of the clans

Wednesday October 5th 2011, Author: Lizzie Ward, Location: Spain

Assa Abloy 2, the Volvo Ocean 60 skippered by Neal McDonald into second place in the Volvo Ocean Race 2001-02, will be represented at this year’s Legends Regatta and Reunion by her sistership Assa Abloy 1 (read our tour of this boat from when she was originally launched here).

Both Assa Abloy yachts were built by Green Marine in Lymington on Britain’s south coast on a single female mould as this was thought the best way to produce two identical boats. Assa Abloy 2 was ultimately chosen to race around the world.

Jason Carrington was the principal boatbuilder for both boats and a member of Assa Abloy 2's crew. Ten years later, Carrington is the principal boat builder for Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing’s Azzam in the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-12.

The distinctive golden yellow ochre Kevlar cloth could be seen through a clear outer layer of lacquer on Assa Abloy 2 and her striking hull graphics were entered in the 2001 International Art Direction and Design Awards in London.

Assa Abloy's crew included Legends Ambassador Magnus Olsson, who had sailed in four previous races and had been a helmsman aboard Paul Cayard’s winning entry, EF Language in the previous race. Before the start, navigator, the late Mark Rudiger, also a veteran from Cayard’s winning campaign, said, “We know we’ve got a good boat and we’ve got a great team.”

Assa Abloy 1 was renamed Ambersail in 2008 and has been kept extremely busy ever since, clocking some 100,000 nm to date. She circumnavigated the world in 2008-09 to commemorate the millennium of her new home country Lithuania (

With her all-Lithuanian crew, Ambersail has featured in many major offshore regattas including Sevenstar Round Britain and Ireland, RORC Caribbean 600, Transatlantic, Rolex Fastnet and Rolex Middle Sea Races. Although from bygone era and not designed for racing corrected time racing, she still regularly upsets more modern international competition.

The list of entries for the Volvo Ocean Race Legends Regatta and Reunion continues to grow and the final entry list will be confirmed by mid October.

Rig: Sloop
Designer: Farr Yacht Design
LOA 64’ (19.5m)
Crew: 12
Finished: 2nd 2001-02
Elapsed time: 127.11
Skippers: Roy Heiner (leg one)/Neal McDonald

Entries in the Volvo Ocean Race Legends Regatta and Reunion
1. Copernicus 1973-74 (45’ sloop: the smallest boat ever to race)
2. Great Britain II/Whitbread Heritage (Maxi ketch - took part in the first five races)
3. Rothmans 1989-90 (Maxi sloop)
4. Berge Viking 1981-82 (Swan 57)
5. Charles Jourdan 1989-90 (Maxi sloop)
6. Steinlager 2 1989-90 (Maxi Ketch)
7. Gauloises III 1981-82 (62’ Sloop) sailed by the French crew of Grand Louis/Japy-Hermès and Kriter IX
8. Traité de Rome 1977-78 and 1981-82 (51’ aluminium sloop)
9. Adventure/Dasher 1973-74 and 1977-78 (Nicholson 55)
10. Tauranga 1973-74 (Sparkman & Stephens Swan 55 yawl)
11. ASSA ABLOY/Ambersail 2001-02 (Volvo Ocean 60)

Lady Blake
Tracy Edwards MBE
Sir Chay Blyth CBE, BEM
Magnus Olsson
Skip Novak
Pierre Fehlmann

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top