British cunning wins team racing

After finals of the European Team Racing in Denia, Spain

Tuesday October 22nd 2002, Author: James Boyd, Location: none selected
The British team of Stuart Hudson/Linda Eadie, Owen Modral/Jane Stamp and Sunday Jonson/Debs Kershaw have become European Team Racing Champions after a week's racing at the Club Náutico de Dénia in Spain.

The British team rounded off their victory in a decisive 3-0 win over the Dutch team of Jelle Roos/Janneke Hin, Jeroen den Boer/Floortje Henderikse and Frans Hin/Harko Robroch, that reached the finals after beating the Spanish team from of Manuel Weiller/Luis Mancilla from the Balearic islands, the Andalusians Nacho Zalvide/Antonio Zalvide and the Canary Islands Mónica Cabrera/Alejandra Montesdeoca, in the semifinals by 2-1.

The Spanish national team finished the European Team Racing Championship in fourth position. They fought third and fourth positions with the English team Gbr-2 of Ben Field /Tom Foster, Gordon Bennell/Karen Greenland and Andy Cornah/George Corlett, but the English again dominated winning by 2-0, to take third position.

The fourth position for the local team was felt to be a good result since it is the first time that they have taken part in the Team Racing championship that is normally the reserve of the English and Dutch.

The final day of racing was sailed in a late southwesterly of 7 knots.


1. GBR1 (won 3-0)
3. GBR2 (won 2-0)
4. ESP1
5. CZ1
6. CZ2
7. IRL
8. ESP2

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top