Photos: On Edition

Izzy Hamilton is the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year

Sailboarding prodigy presented at Tullet Prebon London International Boat Show

Saturday January 8th 2011, Author: James Boyd, Location: United Kingdom

Izzy Hamilton, 18, from Holsworthy in North Devon was presented with the prestigious YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award 2010 at the Tullet Prebon London International Boat Show today, Saturday, January 8. The award was presented by Match Racing winner Lucy MacGregor.

Hamilton picked up her third Youth National title in April 2010 and won a Silver medal at the European Youth Championships in Sopot, Poland and another at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championships in Istanbul, Turkey. She has just successfully defended her class Youth World title in Cyprus becoming Britain’s first ever double windsurfing Youth World Champion.

The other finalists for the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year were Anya Colley. RYA 2010 National Jetsport IJSBA Ski Stock Champion.

Six of her World titles and many of her other achievements have been secured in mixed gender competition. Joanna Freeman and Hannah Mitchell. Joanna and Hannah won the RYA Volvo Nationals in Weymouth in April 2010 and placed 4th at the ISAF Youth Worlds in Turkey, narrowly missing out on a 2nd through protest.

Hamilton was among the nominations for this year’s Award, 12 of which were for RYA Regional Young Sailor of the Year winners who are voted for by RYA affiliated sailing clubs. These young sailors have made a significant impact on youth sailing, ranging from gold medal winning achievements and overcoming adversity, to the huge amount of hard work and effort they give back to their clubs.

Lucy MacGregor also presented awards to the RYA Regional Winners:
East Midlands: Anya Colley
Northern Ireland: Sophie Murphy
North East: Jordan Muckles
Scotland: Callum Airlie
Southern: Joanna Freeman & Hannah Mitchell
South East: Richard Thomas
South West: Sam Sills
Thames Valley: Aaron Reynolds
Wales: Ellie Meopham
West Midlands: Sarah Norbury
Yorkshire and Humberside: Connor Bainbridge
North West: Cameron Douglas

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top