New Trophy

Asprey has created a brand new trophy to be awarded to the winner of the three Swan 45 Area Circuits

Tuesday November 22nd 2005, Author: Jennifer Holl, Location: United Kingdom
Asprey, The Ultimate British Luxury Lifestyle House, has created a magnificent new trophy for the Swan 45 Class, hand crafted from sterling silver in the prestigious brand’s London workshops. The Swan 45 Class Asprey Trophy is a replica model of Nautor’s Swan’s performance racing yacht at 1.25 the size of a real Swan 45. The trophy will be awarded to the winner of each of the three Swan 45 Area Circuits within the Mediterranean, Northern Europe and Eastern America.

The three Area Circuits see Swan 45s race within key regattas in each of the regions, to compete for the area champion title and now the coveted Asprey trophy. The Swan 45 Mediterranean Circuit winner of 2005 is Leonardo Ferragamo, owner of Swan 45 Cuordileone, who was presented with the trophy by Swan 45 Class Chairman Enrico Chieffi at a lavish reception hosted by Nautor’s Swan partner NetJets during the recent Les Voiles de St Tropez regatta on the Cote D’Azure, France. Following a season of tight competition in the Mediterranean Circuit regattas, which included the Primo Cup, Rolex Capri Sailing Week, the Spanish Copa del Rey and the Rolex Settimana delle Bocche, Cuordileone won the title with 55 points, closely followed by Danilo Salsi’s DSK on 62 points and Francesco Martino’s T…too with 72 points.

This year’s Swan 45 Eastern American Circuit winner was decided following the last event of the season, the American Yacht Club Fall Regatta. Despite Andrew Fisher’s Swan 45 Bandit coming in first in the AYC series, which was run over two consecutive weekends off Long Island Sound, USA, the overall Eastern American Circuit Champion title goes to VIM, owned by Craig Speck. Doug Douglass’s Goombay Smash was a close second, followed by Andrzej Rojek’s Better Than. Speck will be presented with the Swan 45 Class Asprey Trophy at the ClubSwan Cocktail Reception in New York in February of next year.

The Northern European Circuit Champion of 2005 with 45.6 points is Swan 45 Fever, owned by Grant Gordon and Klaus Diederich. The English Swan had a sequence of fantastic results during the season, culminating with its striking win at the Rolex Swan European Regatta last June. The second place will be awarded to Misha Mouratov’s Swan 45 Murka II, followed by Crackerjack in third. The trophy will be awarded at the London ClubSwan Cocktail reception in January.

Swan 45 owners from all three area circuits will now turn their attention to Key West, Florida for the second ever Swan 45 Class ‘world championship’, to be held during Acura Key West Race Week in January 2006, where there will be fierce competition for another stunning Asprey trophy, the Swan 45 Gold Cup.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top