RC44s head for Austria

Austria Cup to take place on Lake Traunsee next week

Tuesday May 27th 2008, Author: Jane Eagleson, Location: United Kingdom
BMW Oracle Racing will seek to repeat their match racing success in the RC44 class at the Austria Cup starting here tomorrow. Larry Ellison will be at the helm again with Russell Coutts calling tactics for the match racing series on Austria’s stunning Lake Traunsee.

“We had a great first regatta last month in Italy so it will be difficult to match that result,” said team skipper Russell Coutts about the team’s win in the match racing series at the RC 44 Calgiari Cup. “The lake sailing will provide a different set of conditions from what we normally sail in, which will be fun and a good challenge. We look forward to some great competition.”

Other BMW Oracle Racing competing this week with Ellison and Coutts are Dirk de Ridder, main trimmer (NED); Ross Halcrow, trimmer (NZL); and Alan Smith, bow (NZL).

The RC 44 circuit is part of the team’s 2008 racing program. Seven other BMW Oracle Racing crew members are competing here this week on two other entries. BMW Oracle Racing helmsman James Spithill has Michele Ivaldi and Joey Newton racing with him on board Igor Lah’s RC 44 Team Cereef.

BMW Oracle Racing tactician John Kostecki is sailing with Alberto Barovier, Noel Drennan and Daniel Fong with owner Patrick de Barros. BMW Oracle Racing sailing coordinator Julien di Biase joins his teammates on board the de Barros entry. Coutts and Kostecki are planning to swap positions for the fleet racing series of the regatta starting on Friday.

The regatta starts Wednesday 28 May with two days of match racing followed by three days of fleet racing, concluding on Sunday 1 June. The racing will take place on one of three course areas on the deep glacier lake nestled in the snow-capped Alps. The RC 44 Austria Cup is BMW Oracle Racing’s second event on the 2008 circuit and the third regatta of the season for the RC 44 season championship.

The RC 44 Austria Cup entries:
(Name of team, owner, pro sailor)
Team Hiroshi - Città di Milano, Armando Giulietti / Sébastien Col
Team Banco Espirito Santo, Patrick de Barros / John Kostecki
Team Aqua, Chris Bake / Cameron Appleton
Team Ceeref, Igor Lah / James Spithill
Team Austria, Miroslav Reljanovic / Christian Binder
Sea Dubai, DIMC, Markus Wieser
Team Beecom, Isao Mita / Kelvin Harrap
BMW Oracle Racing, Larry Ellison / Russell Coutts
Team Organika, Maciej Nawrocki / Mateusz Kusznierewicz

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top