Peyron dominates first day

Amid the rock stars of the Trophy Clairefontaine in La Trinite-sur-Mer

Saturday September 7th 2002, Author: James Boyd, Location: France
A race win and two seconds, put Loïck Peyron into first place on day one of the Clairefontaine Trophy in La Trinite sur Mer after the day was cut short due to light winds. The other races were won by Michel Desjoyeaux and American Randy Smyth.

In the first race to the island of Hoëdic, Peyron - five time winner of this event between 1995 and 1999 - took the lead ahead of a hard fought contest between Ellen MacArthur and Christine Briand, eventually won by Briand with Kito de Pavant fourth. Roland Jourdain was forced to retire with back pains.

The next downwind race was won by Desjoyeaux who neatly fended off an attack by Peyron with Franck Cammas and Kito de Pavant fourth.

The leg back to Presqu'ile de Quiberon was led by Franck Cammas followed by Peyron and Randy Smyth but it was the American Tornado Olympian who made the best of the weakening conditions to cross the line first in Port Haliguen. Cammas was pipped into second place by Peyron.

On the final leg Ellen MacArthur made the best start. Peyron, Desjoyeaux and Cammas caught up but the wind was too weak and it was raining too hard, so the race committee abandoned the race.

1 Loïck Peyron, 22 pts (1,2,2)
2 Randy Smyth, 12 pts (6,6,1)
3 Michel Desjoyeaux, 12 pts (7,1,5)
4 Franck Cammas, 10 pts (5,3,3)
5 Ellen MacArthur, 9 pts (3,5,4)
6 Kito de Pävant, 7 pts (4,4,6)
7 Christine Briand, 6 pts 2,7,7)
8 Roland Jordain, 0 Pt (non-starter today).

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top