Rock stars go cat racing

Clairefontaine Trophy to star tomorrow in La Triniite-sur-Mer

Thursday September 5th 2002, Author: James Boyd, Location: France
Eight top international skippers will be gathering tomorrow in La Trinite-sur-Mer, France to take part in the 13th Clairefontaine Trophy. They are:

Loick Peyron (Fr) - skipper of the 60ft Fujifilm and a previous winner of this event
Ellen MacArthur (GB) - Europe 1 New Man STAR winner, 2nd Vendee Globe 2000/1
Michel Desjoyeaux (Fr) - skipper of the 60ft trimaran Geant, winner Vendee Globe 2000/1
Randy Smith (US) - two time Olympic Tornado medallist and leading multihull helm
Franck Cammas - skipper of the 60ft trimaran Groupama
Roland Jourdain - skipper of the Open 60 Sill Plein Fruit, winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre 2001, Regate de Rubicon 2002
Christine Briand - three time 470 world champion
Kito de Pavant - winner of the recent Solitaire du Figaro

Each boat is sailed by three and there is equal talent among the crew. Jean-François Cuzon, sailing with Michel Desjoyeaux, was a 470 World and European champion. With Loick Peyron is Olympic Tornado champion Pierre Pennec, while other French Tornado specialists are Jean-Christophe Mourniac, sailing with Randy Smyth, and Franck Citeau, who is part of Michel Desjoyeaux's crew.

Aside from Kito de Pavant, there are several former Figaro stars such as previous winners, Desjoyeaux (1992 and 1998), Franck Cammas (1997) and his crew Pascal Bidégorry (2000). Other highly ranked former Figaro sailors taking part are Roland Jourdain and crewman Benoit Petit, Irishman Damian Foxall and former ASSA ABLOY crew Sidney Gavignet with Ellen MacArthur, and Sebastien Audigane with Kito de Pavant.

They will be sailing one design 25ft catamarans called Sailing One catamarans. These were designed by Marc van Peteghem and Vincent Lauriot Prevost and have racks and wingmasts.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top