Antix the class act

Anthony O'Leary's team lead at the Brewin Dolphin Scottish Series

Sunday May 30th 2010, Author: Andi Robertson, Location: United Kingdom

Past Scottish Series trophy winners have set themselves up as possible overall victors again this year after another challenging day of racing at the Brewin Dolphin Scottish Series on Loch Fyne, off Tarbert.

The only skipper-helm to have a completely unbroken string of wins from all six races so far remains Ruaraidh Scott and the crew of the 1720 King Quick.

Gremlins in the result programmes had robbed King Quick of a win yesterday, but another three wins today ensured that Scott, who originates from Tarbert is on course to win Sportsboat Class 1, the 1720 Europeans title and perhaps even challenge for the 130 boat regatta’s top award.

Scott is the last Scottish skipper to have won the Scottish Series Trophy, triumphing in the 1720 class in 2003.

“It was never easy today and we certainly had to work for both of our wins,” said Scott, “In the second race we were in third but just kept
chipping away, taking what gains we could as they came along, making sure our crew work was tidy and to keep our boat speed up all the
time. There are four or five boats which are sailing well and so the racing is tight. But, whatever, it was just a gorgeous day.”

Two wins in IRC Class 1 for Anthony O’Leary and his Cork crew on the Ker 39 Antix must give the Irish team - which includes O’Leary’s 2008
Olympian son Peter – a good chance of challenging for the overall trophy which he won in 2007.

“They are simply untouchable. We just cannot stay with them, they are a class act,” remarked second placed Playing FTSE’s Gordon Dundas of their rivals on Antix.

And after falling to a painful eighth in yesterday’s second race, when they were stranded at the near windless windward mark in contrary tide for a long, long time yesterday, John Corson’s Salamander XX crew were back on top form in IRC Class 3 today, posting back to back wins.

Corson’s immaculately prepared IRC Class 3-leading Corby 33 was up pacing the leaders of IRC Class 2 for much of the first race so far
were they ahead in the moderate 10-13 knots of breeze which was enjoyed by the GSS IRC fleet which raced up in the north of Loch Fyne,
towards Ardrishaig for the first time in many years.

Salamander’s one aberration is that eighth, otherwise the Clyde crew have won all of their other races and must have set themselves firmly
in the frame as possible winners of the overall trophy. Helmsman John Highcock won the overall Scottish Series Trophy in 1995 but would
dearly like to contribute to veteran Corson, 80, winning the overall trophy for the first time in more than 20 years of racing here.

“We have just been concentrating on keeping the boat speed numbers high and learning not to be too greedy. That was the lesson yesterday. I was just a little bit too greedy and we were stuck for a long time, and believe me it felt like an infinity,” explained Highcock ashore in the bright Tarbert sunshine this afternoon.

In the RS Elite one design class double Olympic gold medallist Shirley Robertson steered Shaun Maclean’s national championship winning Elixir to three wins today, contributing neatly to the Forth crew’s overall lead in the series of four points.


IRC Class 1: 1 Antix (A O’Leary) 6pts, 2 Playing FTSE (J Anderson) 13pts, 3 Impetuous (R Fildes) 16pts

Class 2, 1 Roxy 6 (R Davies) 9pts, 2 Tanit (R & D Harris) 9pts, 3 Bateleur 97 (C Bonar) 13 pts

Class 3: 1 Salamander XX (J Corson) 5pts, 2 Acrewed Interest (K Hull) 14pts, 3 Storm ( P Kelly) 20pts

Class 4: 1 Hops (Bolton/Robertson) 13pts, 2 Equinox (R McDonald) 16pts, 3 Shadowfax (S & B Fortieth) 21pts

Class 5: 1 Misjif (Angus/Tear/Thomson) 11pts, 2 Bambi (P Doig) 12pts, 3 Mercenary (M Bradshaw) 13pts

Class 6: 1 Sunrise (N & S Chalmers) 5pts, 2 Stoirm Mhor (J MacKenizie) 15pts, 3 Tartan Pimpernel (N Howison) 16pts

Class 7: 1 Whats New Pussykate (S Scott) 7pts, 2 Valhalla of Ashton (A Dunnet) 8pts

Sigma 33: 1 Sea Pie of Cultra (J Colman) 7pts, 2 Sigmatic (D & A Mclaren) 14pts, 3 Rascal (F Crawford) 16pts

CYCA Restricted Sail Class 10: 1 Margarita (Moorehead/Ferres) 6pts, 2 Finesse (Major D Walters) 8pts, 3 Nuage (K Andrew) 9pts,

Sonata: 1 Blue Tack (D Boatman) 9pts, 2 So (N Mclure) 10pts, 3 Jazz (Rosie/Manderson) 16pts

Sportsboat 1: 1 King Quick (R Scott) 6pts, 2 Alltalk (Angel/Stevenson) 17pts, 3 Richochet (S Forrester-Coles) 17pts

Sportsboat Class 2: 1 Haggis (E Mackay) 7pts, 2 Prelude (Manuel/Bourke) 15pts, 3 ASBOat (G Whyte) 16pts

RS Elite: 1 Elixir (S Maclean) 6pts, 2 Swallow (B Shaw) 10pts, 3 No Angel (F Hicks) 17pts.


Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top