Photo: Philippe Schiller/

D35s celebrate their 10th birthday

Vulcain Trophy sets sail next month with the Open Versoix

Thursday April 18th 2013, Author: James Boyd, Location: Switzerland

The Vulcain Trophy, the annual championship for the D35 gets underway next month, celebrating the 10th year of racing for the Sebastien Schmidt-designed catamarans on Lake Geneva. 

Training begins on Friday in the build-up to the first event of the season, the Open de Versoix Nationale Suisse to be held over 10-12 May.

The race format innovations introduced last year have been proven and will therefore be maintained including shorter races of 25-30 minutes duration and the use of gate markers.

Twelve D35s catamarans will be competing for the Vulcain Trophy this seaon, including four new ones: Oryx of Eric Delay, Alex Schneiter's Tilt, Demole Bertrand and Guillaume Bureau's Ylliam and Team SUI9 of Christian Wahl. The arrival of these new teams will serve to sharpen the competitive spirit of all the competitors.

Team line-up

- ALINGHI (SUI1): Ernesto Bertarelli, Pierre-Yves Jorand,  Nicolas Charbonnier, Nils Frei, Coraline Jonet, Yves Detrey,  Claudy Dewarrat, Joao Cabecadas and David Nikles.
- OKALYS-CORUM (SUI2): Nicolas Grange, Jean-Christophe Mourniac, Eric Monnin, Xavier Revil, Damien Cardenoso,  Andrew Graham, Alban Rossollin, Alexandre Detray and Jérôme Telliet.
- ORYX (SUI3): Eric Delay, Mathieu Richard, Emmanuel Dyen, Vincent Boaron and Thierry Briend.
- ZEN TOO (SUI4): Guy de Picciotto, Fred Le Peutrec, Gildas Philippe,  Nicolas Berthoud, Bertrand Seydoux and Jeff Kerleguer

- TILT (SUI5): Lucien Cujean, Arnaud Psarofaghis, Jocelyn Keller, Sébastien Schneiter, Jeremy Bachelin, Thomas Mermod, Lionel Vaucher, Jonas Schagen, Mikis Psarofaghis, Romain Meyer, Laurent Voiron and Francois Rayroux
- YLLIAM (SUI6) : Bertrand Demole, Arnaud Gavairon, Jean-Luc Lévèques,  Kiny Parade, Kristian Aursnes, Guillaume Bureau and Stéphane Ries.
- REALSTONE SAILING (SUI7): Jérôme Clerc, Bruno Barbarin, Denis Girardet, Arnaud Psarofaghis, Cédric Schmidt, Nils Palmieri, Bryan Mettraux, Thierry Wasem.
- NICKEL (SUI8): Frédéric Moura, Emmanuel Chomel,  Yann Bonjour, Yann Maillet, Alex Greenwood, Christian Roelofs, Marin Lauber, Ludovic Bournisien and Pierre Moura.
- TEAM SUI 9 (SUI9): Christian Michel, Christian Wahl, Jean-Pierre Ziegert, Jean-Sébastien Ponce, Guillaume Berenger, Nelson Mettraux and Nicolas Anklin.
- LADYCAT (SUI10): Dona Bertarelli, Yann Guichard, Billy Besson,  Devan Le Bihan, Arnaud Jarlegan, Marie Riou and Nicolas Débordes.
- VELTIGROUP (SUI11): Marco Simeoni, Boris Lerch, Julien Monier, Yvan Ravussin, Alexandre Quiblier and Loïc Forestier.
- ARTEMIS RACING (SWE 12): Torbjorn Tornqvist, the rest TBC.

The 2013 program

The Vulcain Trophy combines two type of races: firstly, traditional regular multi-class regattas on Lake Geneva such as the Geneve-Rolle-Geneve and the famous Bol d'Or Mirabaud, along with six other Grands Prix, exclusively for the D35s.

The schedule for 2013 is as follows:

- Open National Versoix Switzerland Club Nautique de Versoix (CNV) - 10 to 12 May
- Grand Prix Les Ambassadeurs, Société Nautique de Genève (SNG) - 25 and 26 May
- Geneva-Rolle-Geneva, Geneva Yacht Club (YCG) - 8 June
- Open Versoix II, Club Nautique de Versoix (CNV) - 7-9 June
- Bol d'Or Mirabaud, Société Nautique de Genève (SNG) - 15 June
- Open Crans Yacht Club Crans-près-Céligny (CNC) - 7-8 September
- Grand Barn Price and Co., Geneva Yacht Club (YCG) - 21-22 September
- Grand Prix Beau-Rivage Palace, Club Nautique de Versoix (CNV) & Cercle de la Voile de Vidy (CVV) - 27-29 September


Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top