Peyron - champion for the 4th time

Loick Peyron picks up 2002 trimaran title - plus Yvan Zedda's images of the late Fujifilm
The 60ft trimaran's 9 Telecom championship has had it ups and downs this year - a great swelling of the fleet, but disasters in the number of broke, destroyed or lost boats in both the Courses de Phares and the recent Route du Rhum - in both events only three trimarans finished. The 9 Telecom ORMA Championship has concluded with an outright winner who picks up the 60ft trimaran annual title for the fourth time. Like the rest of the fleet it has been up and down for winner Loick Peyron this year. In the 2001 season his boat Fujifilm spectacularly dismasted, but this year rerigged and with development from Peyron's highly experienced team, Fujifilm has been almost unbeatable, winning both the Course des Phares crewed offshore race, the Zeebrugge Grand Prix and narrowly missing the hat trick coming second at the Grand Prix in Fecamps and Lorient. But disaster struck Fujifilm when during the Route du Rhum, one of her floats broke causing the trimaran to literally fold up around Peyron. The skipper, who has more experience on racing multihulls than perhaps anyone afloat (with the possible exception of his elder brother Bruno) was rescued, but Loick was unable rescue his stricken tri and it will be back to the drawing board for the Fuji team. Second place in the championship this year following his win in the Route du Rhum is Michel Desjoyeaux, with Marc Guillemot in third following his second place in the recent transat. Results: 1- Fujifilm (Loïck Peyron) 6+30+10+6+0,4 = 52,4 points 2- Géant (Michel Desjoyeaux) 0+0+0+0+40 = 40 points 3- Biscuits La Trinitaine-Ethypharm (Marc Guillemot) 4+0,3+0+3+24 = 31,3 points 4- Bonduelle (Jean Le Cam) 3+18+0,2+0+0,4 = 21,6 points 5- Banque Populaire (Lalou Roucayrol) 2+0+0+0+16 = 18 points 6- Groupama (Franck Cammas) 10+0,3+6+0+0,4 = 16,7 points 7- Belgacom (Jean-Luc Nélias)