Honours for Grand Soleil 44

Hugues Riché's Spineck claims the RORC's Cowes- Dinard-St. Malo Race

Tuesday July 14th 2009, Author: Louay Habib, Location: United Kingdom
Hugues Riché’s Grand Soleil 44 Spineck (above) was declared winner of the RORC Cowes- Dinard-St. Malo Race after finishing the 164 mile course in less than 23 hours.

“We have been sailing Spineck for about three years and have a consistent crew which was a big factor in winning this race, we are all just friends who love to sail," said Riché. "We are so proud to have won this special trophy and the King Edward VII Cup will be kept at the Yacht Club de France in honour of my good friend, Louis Heckly, one of the pillars of yachting whose father is the honorary President”.

Andy Tourell’s IMOCA 60 The Profit Hunter won IRC Class Super Zero Canting Keel but they weren’t the first boat home. Tony Todd’s PY100 Liara crossed the finish line after just 17 hours 19 minutes and 5 seconds to clinch IRC Class Super Zero. Nigel Passmore’s team on the TP52 Apollo competing in their first offshore race in their new boat will be delighted to have come second and the UK Sailing Academy Team racing Peter Harrison’s Chernikeeff 2 were not far behind in third.

IRC Class Zero was obviously the class to beat; the three top boats were also the top in the overall rankings for the race. While Spineck was the victor, Sir Geoffrey Mulcahy’s Swan 56 Noonmark VI was second winning the Derek Boyer Trophy, beating hot favourite Piet Vroon’s Ker 46 Tonnerre de Breskens into third place.

In IRC Class One it was a close run race with the top three boats finishing within sight of each other after 24 hours of racing. Marc de Saint Denis’ First 40 Coup de Coeur was the class winner with Jean Yves Thomas’ IMX 40 Thom Pouce 2 in second and Nicolas Loday and Jean Claude Nicoleau’s well campaigned Grand Soleil 43 Codiam taking third. Codiam also won the Newcome Hoare Trophy for the best yacht in IRC with 25% of the crew under the age of 28.

In IRC Class Two there was a tight finish between two French A35s: Frank-Yves Esco-Voiles’ Ame Hasle winning by under a mile on the water from Gilles Caminade’s Chenapan. Nicolas de la Fourniere’s X-34 Exile/Mirabaud was third in class, but once again came out as top of the Two-Handed Division. Second in the Two-Handed Division was Nick and Suzi Jones’ First 34.7 Astarte and third was White Knuckles, Dominic Hurndall’s Prima 38.

Jean Yves Chateau’s Nicholson 33 Iromiguy had a great race in IRC Class Three winning on handicap from David Lees’ Lymington-based High Tension 36 Hephzibah. Nigel Goodhew’s Sigma 38 Persephone of London was third in class and won the Sigma 38 Division for the third time this season. Monet, owned by Tim Waite, was the second Sigma 38 home with Nick Gale’s Zanzara third.

The John West Trophy for Yacht Club teams of two boats was won by the RORC Red team of the RYA Keelboat Programme’s TP 52 John Merricks II and Nick and Annie Haigh’s DK 46 Dark & Steamy.

For the first time in this year’s RORC Season’s Points Championship there was significant breeze. Competitors will be hoping for more great conditions for the next race which will be the Channel Race on 25 July. Early entries show that this will be another big fleet racing with the Royal Ocean Racing Club.

There is a change of leader for the overall RORC Season’s Points Championship. Robin Taunt’s J/109 has been knocked off pole position and is now not even in the top three. The new leader is Bill Blain’s J/133, Batfish III, second is David Lees’ High Tension 36, Hephzibah and third is Nick Martin’s J/105 Diablo-J.

Overall results here

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top