40,000 Euros at stake

For the winner of the FICO-Lacoste skipper championship

Monday October 7th 2002, Author: Mathieu Sarrot, Location: None
With none of the top eight skippers in the 2002 FICO-LACOSTE rankings taking part in the Fecamps Grand Prix, the positions at the top of the table remain unchanged.
The Grand Prix for the 60ft trimarans was won by Jean-Luc Nélias, on Belgacom, finally putting a stop to the domination of Loïck Peyron so far this season. Peyron's second place is worth eight points in the skippers’ rankings for the 2002 FICO-LACOSTE World Championship, but is not enough to hoist him up from his ninth place in the Championship Top Ten.

However an event which will have more of a bearing of the championship is coming up next month in the singlehanded Route du Rhum from St Malo to Guadeloupe. Seven of the top 10 skippers will be taking part in this. 100 points are on offer to the Route du Rhum winners put both Ellen MacArthur and Michel Desjoyeaux in the running to overtake current leader Roland Jourdain.

And it should be remembered that this is not for no-idle piece of silverware, but for hard cash:

1st skipper € 40,000
2nd skipper € 25,000
3rd skipper € 15,000

1st crew member € 7,500

Current rankings:
1 – Roland Jourdain FRA 280.5 points
2 – Ellen MacArthur GBR 231.5 points
3 – Michel Desjoyeaux FRA 230.0 points
4 – John Kostecki USA 200.0 points
5 – Franck Cammas FRA 163.0 points
6 – Dominique Wavre SUI 160.5 points
7 – Neal McDonald GBR 160.0 points
8 – Alain Gautier FRA 157.0 points
9 – Loïck Peyron FRA 149.0 points
10 – Grant Dalton NZL 140.0 points

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top